We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of Bigfoot Bar B Que

Bigfoot Bar B Que
Ranked #39 of 347 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: It's about the food, not the fancy... real smoked meats with scratch made sides... add in fresh cobbler and a cold drink and you're sure to enjoy. Good for the whole family! Now serving Breakfast on the Weekends!
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My family loves coming to this place, including the kids! They have such an awesome BBQ selection, and great amount of food for the price. Very good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    84
    38
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Will try other places”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I love BBQ and raised on some of the best in Alabama (Bob Gibson's) and have done weekend BBQ trips to Memphis and KC. This place didn't measure up. We ordered the double wide to share with beans, slaw and sweet potatoes for our sides. We ate the ribs first so we could use the handi wipes to clean up before eating the rest. Their glazed ribs were different and not bad. As for the sides, the beans have cooked green peppers in them. One bite and I passed all of it to my husband - don't like the taste of cooked green peppers, even if you remove them. The cole slaw was terrible - the cabbage was bitter and the dressing was so weak it didn't help cover the bitterness. The sweet potatoes were pretty good. The cornbread was so dry it kept falling in my lap or the floor - it had to be at least 1 day if not 2 days old. It was not fresh and we were there when it opened for the day. As for the meats - chicken was very dry, the only flavor was the sauce. Pork was a little heavy on the vinegar (I'm used to a vinegar baste) and the beef was OK. We tried two BBQ places on this trip to Flagstaff. We prefer the other place. Will try others on our next trip in a few weeks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Owner at Bigfoot Bar B Que, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. We are disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience at our restaurant. Our goal is to produce wholesome food made with fresh quality ingredients, delivered with great service to every guest, every time. Our success is measured one guest at a time, and on your visit, it appears that we fell short.

One of the great things about BBQ is that most people have strong opinions about it... and they don't mind sharing them. A lot of it is regional, and some of it is just who's BBQ you like best... Several years ago we visited Kansas City to taste some legendary BBQ. As the plane was taxiing to the gate, the BBQ talk started all over the plane. Strong opinions were loudly shared with near religious fervor... no fist fights, but certainly everyone talking about BBQ had their favorites. We built the menu at Bigfoot knowing that most of our guests would have a prior favorite BBQ place... a first love so to speak. That said, our goal is to serve a satisfying meal by preparing our food from recipes that we developed in house with inspiration from great BBQ places all over the map. Some folks like super smoky ribs, others think potato salad should be yellow. We know that we are not going to please everyone with every item on our menu, but we hope that somewhere on our menu, there is a new favorite waiting to be found. We hope you appreciate our efforts in delivering a quality meal, and we respect different opinions and always welcome comments, criticisms and praise. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Although a little hard to find (in the basement, of a market), it was worth the effort. Food is ordered at the counter and brought to the table ( long tables, w/ metal chairs). Peanuts (in the shell) are available (free) to munch on, until the food is ready. Great BBQ, served by a friendly staff. It is very basic, nothing fancy, but the food is good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Racefan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ok place to eat”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ok place to eat, won't recommend for families who have kids. Ordered wide BBQ plate for $ 24. Very quick in order process, didn't wait for 5 min for our meals to come. It was huge meal plate. Didn't understood the BBQ Shredded Pork - all mixed up with vinegar? That's the 1st time I tasted but it was really a horrible taste. Other than that, nothing new there..will try another places

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReignVictorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Owner at Bigfoot Bar B Que, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello, ReignVictorious! Thanks so much for your recent visit, and THANK YOU for taking the time to offer a review!

We were bummed that you didn't entirely love your visit to the BBQ. We've worked hard to provide a family-friendly atmosphere, which is why we offer a Kids' Corral/play area with books, toys, TV, and giant chalkboard in our South Dining Room. If you missed this during your visit, we hope that you'll visit again & check it out! The kids love it!

We understand that you didn't care for the Carolina-style Pulled Pork. This is not an entirely uncommon criticism, and we appreciate your honesty. The seasoned-Cider-Vinegar Sauce is what makes Carolina-style, but it's not for everyone. Recently, in response to criticisms about the Carolina-style Pork, we've begun to offer KC-style Pork. It's less tangy & more smoky, and some folks like it much better. We hope that you'll consider another visit to the BBQ in the future to try the KC Pork!

We take criticisms seriously, and yours will be shared with the group of owners who can use it to help make the BBQ a better restaurant for every visitor. We hope to have the privilege of serving you again in the future, and we thank you for taking the time to visit & review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our family ate here last week while passing through Flagstaff! The restaurant was a fun place because of the location and the decorations. We got four different things and shared. The food was delicious! We will definitely go back if we are in the area again! We loved it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank loves_the_summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bigfoot Bar B Que also viewed

 

Been to Bigfoot Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing