We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast stop”

Crown Railroad Cafe
Ranked #51 of 345 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good breakfast stop”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a good place to stop for families especially. They have trains going around high on the walls and it can distract the kids while you are waiting for the food. Good wholesome eats - and reasonably price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mudge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    64
    27
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Get the baked goods!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was not far from our night's lodgings so we went in for a light dinner just before 7 p.m. The two waitresses seemed very harried and they were out of things they shouldn't have been out of -
soup, and ice cream! (I wanted a malt.) The place also looks a little shop-worn - the bench where we sat was torn, for instance.
The décor is all railroad, and you can definitely watch the big trains go by while you're dining here -- the tracks are just the other side of the street.
We settled on a cup of chili (standard stuff) and a ham and cheese on rye (good).
We had the apple pie and the cheesecake for dessert. Excellent excellent excellent. The pie is obviously homemade, very fresh -- perfect crust, apples baked just right. The cheesecake was exactly right - not too light or too sweet.
We had noticed huge dinner rolls going by on other people's plates so we asked if we could get two to go, to have with breakfast the next day. The waitress said they should still be fine for breakfast, because they had just been baked that evening. She also showed us the breakfast biscuits - also huge! - which she said would be fresh the next morning if we preferred biscuits. We settled for the rolls and they are amazing! They are flaky almost like a croissant, but in a standard dinner roll shape - and about the size of your fist! They were SO good!
I'd stop here next time we're in Flag just to buy the baked goods. Surprisingly, they don't seem to be set up to sell just the baked goods, but the staff was very helpful and accommodated us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate at the West location for breakfast and order "those" potatoes and we were not disappointed!!! Fantastic food and the omelets are the best! This was one of the best breakfasts we had while on our 9 day tour of Arizona! ;)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alaskansonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Home Cooked Breakfast”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here on our way to the Grand Canyon for the day. We wanted a great breakfast at a good value. We got just that. They had 66 omlettes to chose from. They offered pancakes that could have a mixture of blueberries, strawberries and bananas. Everything was cooked to perfection and the cost was a reasonable price. Inside was very comfortable booths and tables. I loved the trains that were running from a track suspended from the ceiling. Fun place to eat and good for all ages.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Labbott0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have eaten here. Ate here for the first time back in October (did not rate this place back then). Teenage daughter had veggie stir fry, wife had liver and onions, I had the fried chicken dinner. First of all you get lots of foodfor the price. The liver was over cooked slightly, but the wife still gave it a thumbs up. Veggie stir fry was excellent and so was the fried chicken. My only complaint is the brown gravy they put over the mashed potatoes tasted like it came from a can (not the best gravy). However, the garlic toaste was the best. The wife thought it was to garlicy. The place could stand a remodel as it is from the 60s or early 70s. Model trains run overhead and the real teains run regulary across the highway (route 66). Yes we will eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hondo49r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Railroad Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crown Railroad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing