We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic diner”
Review of Galaxy Diner

Galaxy Diner
Ranked #34 of 348 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Classic fifties fun and fantastic food on historic Route 66. Breakfast, burgers, sandwiches, salads, steaks, chicken, pasta and old fashioned shakes, malts and sundaes from the classic fountain. Step into the 1950's at the Galaxy Diner. Remember the film stars of your youth or your parent's youth like Marilyn Monroe, Lucille Ball, James Dean, Judy Garland, Humphrey Bogart and John Wayne. See our walls of fame with over one hundred pictures and movie stills from the Golden age of film. Enjoy a fun atmosphere and a home cooked meal to the jukebox tunes of Bobby Darin, Pasty Cline, Elvis Presley and more! Swing Dance on Saturday nights with free lessons. Experience 50's fun at the Galaxy Diner on Historic Route 66 Beer & Wine available.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Authentic diner”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Authentic diner next to Budget Inn Flagstaff. Great prices very good device and food as expected. Typical American diner

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evgeny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    268
    121
    40
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast in a vintage 50s-style diner”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Big menu, lots of good selections, price was right.
Coffee was mediocre, tasted like their unit needed a good cleaning.
We'll eat there again when we are in the area, for sure.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank honeytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Classic 50s Diner”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The food was good, a nice breakfast. Service was fine. The one thing that could be improved was that it was a little messy. For example, tables nearby went uncleaned during the entire meal, newspapers in array.

It wasn't busy, but we had to wait a few minutes before being seated, not sure why.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Researcher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Will not go back.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Service was terrible. We waited 45 minutes for a burger. Hardly warm. Side pickle looked old. Place is unkempt and needs a lot of work. They stopped seating people because the kitchen was so slow and it wasn't that busy. We weren't asked for more coffee until we were about done. Won't go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A blast from the past on route 66”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

When you look at the outside you think Naw. I don't want to eat here. When you get in the building it is a totally different place. It is one of the surviving Stainless Steel restaurants built in the US. The outside is nothing special but the inside, now that is a different story. It has a 25 foot long stainless counter, stainless walls, center piece in the ceiling and booths all around the outside. They have one of the coolest jukeboxes I have ever seen and the old selectors in every booth. Don't forget to have a milkshake. They make them from hard ice-cream, real fruit and are the yummiest. One of the best breakfasts in Flagstaff. Don't miss this place. It is not on any of the route 66 lists. Don't miss this one! Saturday nights is Rock-a-Billy night with sock hop and old cars. If we knew about it we would have been there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galaxy Diner also viewed

 

Been to Galaxy Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing