We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American memorabelia”
Review of Galaxy Diner

Galaxy Diner
Ranked #34 of 348 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Classic fifties fun and fantastic food on historic Route 66. Breakfast, burgers, sandwiches, salads, steaks, chicken, pasta and old fashioned shakes, malts and sundaes from the classic fountain. Step into the 1950's at the Galaxy Diner. Remember the film stars of your youth or your parent's youth like Marilyn Monroe, Lucille Ball, James Dean, Judy Garland, Humphrey Bogart and John Wayne. See our walls of fame with over one hundred pictures and movie stills from the Golden age of film. Enjoy a fun atmosphere and a home cooked meal to the jukebox tunes of Bobby Darin, Pasty Cline, Elvis Presley and more! Swing Dance on Saturday nights with free lessons. Experience 50's fun at the Galaxy Diner on Historic Route 66 Beer & Wine available.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“American memorabelia”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

travel back in time. authentic feel. nice staff. great for food at route 66. great icecream. don't order too much, they serve a lot of food

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orange J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    269
    121
    40
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice diner”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Liked the place, especially the retro style decorations. Food was OK, not outstanding but the atmosphere and the friendly staff made the place. I would go back there, especially if you want to have the feeling how a diner looked 50 years ago;

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for breakfast”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had breakfast at the Galaxy Diner twice on my stay in flagstaff. The Food and the prices were good. The diner had a cool 50s/route 66 theme.
The service was exellent the first day. The second day it was terrible the food took forever and my coffee got cold before i got a refill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“slo-o-o-o-o-o-o-owwww”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Revision of a January review: I used to visit the Galaxy once every three to four weeks. I've been three times since the beginning of June and same story every time: inexperienced, tired, lackluster service and extremely slow to get the food to the table. This is a diner, not fine dining! But food is taking thirty minutes - or more - to reach the table. And the food has been just so-so. My cobb salad was fine, but eggs arrived runny and cold on our last visit. They need to learn how to make garlic toast. I found my own silverware. Different food, different times of day previously: same story. If you have plenty of time - and patience - shakes are still delicious. Management:wake up! Add some experienced and qualified kitchen and wait staff! Giving the girls poodle skirts is cute, but nowhere makes up for the long wait. It will will be an equally long time before I return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Milk Shakes, so-so Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

100 different flavors of milk shakes - don't pass these up. Food was OK at best, but it is only a diner. We were there for dinner, not necessarily the best time to visit a diner. Décor is 50's theme. Part of the neon light outside was burnt out. Fairly casual service, but quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougAndRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galaxy Diner also viewed

 

Been to Galaxy Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing