We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time”
Review of Galaxy Diner

Galaxy Diner
Ranked #34 of 348 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Classic fifties fun and fantastic food on historic Route 66. Breakfast, burgers, sandwiches, salads, steaks, chicken, pasta and old fashioned shakes, malts and sundaes from the classic fountain. Step into the 1950's at the Galaxy Diner. Remember the film stars of your youth or your parent's youth like Marilyn Monroe, Lucille Ball, James Dean, Judy Garland, Humphrey Bogart and John Wayne. See our walls of fame with over one hundred pictures and movie stills from the Golden age of film. Enjoy a fun atmosphere and a home cooked meal to the jukebox tunes of Bobby Darin, Pasty Cline, Elvis Presley and more! Swing Dance on Saturday nights with free lessons. Experience 50's fun at the Galaxy Diner on Historic Route 66 Beer & Wine available.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Time”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Neon welcomes you into the past. I noticed that the clock on the outside has no hands why is this not fixed? Was seated in a booth near the counter. Service & food both were good. Sunday, Monday Happy Days !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WoHop132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    269
    121
    40
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Galaxy Diner - A Blast from the Past!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Young and old enjoy the Galaxy Diner. It is located on the west side of Flagstaff on Historic Old Route 66. If you were a teenager in the late 50's or early 60's, this place would be very significant for you. The food is good too - be sure to have a milkshake with you meal.

Go there - take pictures - enjoy the nostalgia - enjoy the food. If you dressed like the Fonz or Potsie, you would feel as if you had gone back in time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizona2AHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We go to the Galaxy Diner often when we are in Flagstaff. I was just at a Krav Maga instructors school at AZ Elite Combat & Fitness and we took in breakfast at the Galaxy this Thursday. As always great food and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebigdogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maybe we got lucky....”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We read some questionable reviews but decided to try it anyway. We were seated in the back and got a waitress who wasn't as swamped as the ones up front. We ate the breakfast special listed on the door - not on the menu. Plenty of food and really delicious! Cute place too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the best example of the old style diner that I have come across.
The service was excellent and fast, the food was of a very high standard. I don't know how they manage to survive when charging so little, but I bet it is so popular with the locals that it will be here for a long time to come.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galaxy Diner also viewed

 

Been to Galaxy Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing