We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great All Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Route 66 Dog House

Route 66 Dog House
Ranked #59 of 338 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great All Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were looking for a quick meal and decided to try the Route 66 Dog Haus. The chili-cheese dogs hit the spot and the onion rings are a must get! The Dog Haus is a great place for some good all-american food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weezman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This establishment has been a fixture in Flagstaff for over 40 years. The food is awesome. Not to be missed are the "Works". The onion rings are not greasy like so many other places. They serve other types of food including Breakfast items.
It is so popular that there is seldom a time you go by when there isn't someone picking up food. At times the line backs up into the station next door. If the line is long, go to the window and order food.
Gary is truly an Artiste' with his order taking and service. It is interesting to go to the order window and read the information about how the establishment was talked about in a famous song.
I drive from Prescott, AZ to Flagstaff just to have one of their items.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Red T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not so hot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Place always looks busy, so we decided to give it a try. Since we're from Chicago, we wanted to see how this would compare to Chicago Vienna Beef Hotdogs.
Sorry, it didn't meet our standards. First of all, the hotdog was not tender; secondly, it was served on a plain bun. The rest of the ingredients were easy to copy, but I wouldn't say it tasted the same. Also, we thought the price was a little high.
We didn't try the other selections such as the chili dog, but I don't think we will go back to find out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shefjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great dog place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Try the original chili dog, excellent. Fries are excellent as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Food is just OK. Every time I eat there, it upsets my stomach. May be the oil they are using.

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 66 Dog House also viewed

 

Been to Route 66 Dog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing