We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi!”
Review of Monsoons Downtown

Monsoons Downtown
Ranked #102 of 349 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sushi!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The new owners have put in a beautiful new bar and updated the menu! The food and atmosphere are great. You can sit outside downtown and people watch while you eat good food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjack6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    51
    32
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“They place has changed a lot since we where last here”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I used to like to come here for the sushi, as there is not a lot of choice in Flagstaff. this time I had a friend, her son, and my son and his friend (3 teenage boys) my friend and I both had the sushi which was ok, the boys cleaned their plates of pad thai so it must have been good. I am not sure I like the new look, however the young bar scene crowd probably appreciates it

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Don't eat here, management NOT VERY CUSTOMER ORIENTED! We had a nice time until it came time to pay for the dinner. We had a Mailer coupon for a buy one get one free plus we had gift certificate purchased there by a friend. The Manager told us he couldn't combine a coupon and a gift certificate together because their system wouldn't allow. Which I never heard of before from any business. Then he tried to tell us new owners purchased the business and didn't have to honor the gift certificates. Does that make sense? I told him he would need to honor it regardless because the business is still the same (same name and same address). Plus, I told him the gift certificates should be like cash. He forced us to choose between the coupon and the certificate and didn't try to rectify the situation. I was so dissatisfied by the way it was handled and felt I was swindled out of the coupon they had advertised. Nowhere on the coupon does it state can't be combined with gift certificate. If you have a problem they will not work with the customer to make it right. They want your money and will find excuses to not honor discounts, etc... It shouldn't have become my problem to begin with and they should have found a way to make it right. I wouldn't buy gift certificates from them, you are better off with cash. I was a loyal customer, but they have lost my patronage for life. I will tell everyone I come into contact with about my experience there and will never refer. Obviously they are not for the customer as you can see from other postings. The food wasn't worth the aggravation and have had better quality/better tasting food else where in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilplummer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Management horrible, food just ok, wouldn't recommend”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Don't eat here, management NOT VERY CUSTOMER ORIENTED! We had a nice time until it came time to pay for the dinner. We had a Mailer coupon for a buy one get one free plus we had gift certificate purchased there by a friend. The Manager told us he couldn't combine a coupon and a gift certificate together because their system wouldn't allow. Which I never heard of before from any business. Then he tried to tell us new owners purchased the business and didn't have to honor the gift certificates. Does that make sense? I told him he would need to honor it regardless because the business is still the same (same name and same address). Plus, I told him the gift certificates should be like cash. He forced us to choose between the coupon and the certificate and didn't try to rectify the situation. I was so dissatisfied by the way it was handled and felt I was swindled out of the coupon they had advertised. Nowhere on the coupon does it state can't be combined with gift certificate. If you have a problem they will not work with the customer to make it right. They want your money and will find excuses to not honor discounts, etc... It shouldn't have become my problem to begin with and they should have found a way to make it right. I wouldn't buy gift certificates from them, you are better off with cash. I was a loyal customer, but they have lost my patronage for life. I will tell everyone I come into contact with about my experience there and will never refer. Obviously they are not for the customer. Food wasn't worth the aggravation and yoy can get better quality/tasteful food else where in town. Save your money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilplummer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Arizona
Level Contributor
164 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“An embarrassment to downtown Flagstaff....stay away!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

As someone who works downtown and eats out for lunch, I have to say that this place is one of the WORST! Not only was I called "honey" but the food was severely overprices and terrible. It was like eating food from a buffet on a cruise, seriously. Service took forever, even though I was one of three tables and I sent back my cucumber salad as I'm pretty sure it was from the night before and had way too much vinegar. I was really bummed about my $18 lunch, especially since I left hungry. What a wast of time and $, clearly, a tourist trap!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoons Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Monsoons Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing