We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff went out of their way to help”

Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee
Ranked #1 of 24 Coffee & Tea in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff went out of their way to help”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Yes, the latte was delicious, as was the breakfast (scrambled eggs with veggies), but the thing that really impressed me was the staff. I visited there before dawn on a sub-freezing morning in early December, having just gotten off an Amtrak train. Macy's is a few blocks from the train station and I needed a place to get a coffee while waiting for sunup and a slight warm-up before continuing my trip on rural, possibly icy roads. I asked the guy behind the counter the best way to get to the road I was looking for. He thought about it a few seconds, then said, "I'll bring out the directions to your table in a few minutes." He did. He had taken the time to actually write the directions on a piece of paper, step by step, clearly and completely. And much clearer than my phone directions. I appreciated that so much. All the staff members on that early morning were pleasant, the service was quick and, like I said, coffee and breakfast were delicious. I will definitely come back next time I'm in Flagstaff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hereandnow_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    145
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
“Not good!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I went here because of the great reviews. We found it just so-so. Small tired looking cafe with menus on the walls. We got the "pesto chicken" sandwiches and lemonade. It was okay, nothing special. We love vegetarian food, but this was nothing to rave about. The sandwiches came with blue chips and tiny tiny containers of salsa. The young woman who brought our food out, spilled my husband's chips all over the table. She did not say anything except a tiny "sorry". Did not offer to get him more, or clean up the mess she made. What kind of waitress or server does this???? Very, very sloppy uncaring service. It cost over $22.00 and was certainly not worth it. We were debating over going to the Wildflower Bread Company (which also has vegetarian dishes) or this cafe. We are positive we made the wrong decision here. There was nothing about this place that would ever made us want to go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“pretty good for breakfast . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good spot to have a vegetarian breakfast and some coffee . . .The space is small and a line will form quick, but otherwise no complaints.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hksjza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“great menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Loads of vegetarian choices. We had breakfast here on way to GC and took sandwiches to go. Well packaged and super tasty. Shop is really cute and small, smells great. Had lovely relaxed breakfast. Good value.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanessaB_107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in America (so far!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

OK, so potentially this isn't the best coffee in America - but if there's a better one, I just haven't found it yet! Honestly, a pretty special cafe latte was had here 3 days in a row on our recent vacation. It was flavoursome and full tasting and impressive.
The queues can get quite long but there is a coffee only queue on the left as soon as you enter and this enables those just wanting coffee to get in and out quite quickly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraveLustR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing