We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Environment and Coffee, Food Subpar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee

Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee
Ranked #1 of 25 Coffee & Tea in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Great Environment and Coffee, Food Subpar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was one of the Trip Advisor places we stopped at on our trip. We had just gotten to Flagstaff after driving all night and were looking for a place for breakfast. It was easy enough to find, parking was a little tricky, especially with the snow and ice on the roads. The coffee shop was small with tightly fit tables and the place was extremely busy. We ordered coffees and some oatmeal and a waffle. The coffee was great, but the waffle and oatmeal was so-so especially given how long it took to get our food. Would recommend this place for just coffee and a place to get out of the cold. And for those things, this was fine.

Overall: 3.5/5
Food: 2/5
Environment: 4.5/5
Beverages: 4/5

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wood93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    144
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not really European but much more character than your local Starbucks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended by a few people to me and the glowing reviews on tripadvisor inspired us to give it a try. Very good coffee and hot cocoa for my girls. I had a couple of eggs with veggies and they split a hard cinnamon roll (which I warned up in microwave on common station) and a waffle with fruit. Food was fine, slow in coming out and really nothing all that special. Thought it all a bit overpriced too given that it's "fight for your own table," bus your own dirties (and the people before you too if you were lucky enough to procure their table by hovering), wipe up after yourself, get your own water and sit super close if not on top of those next to you. I'm not from Flagstaff but the place seemed to be filled equally with tourists and locals. Lots of aging (or aged) hippies and emancipated/somewhat unkempt ski bums seemingly having a good time and truthfully adding to the vibe. (And id say the staff fit the same description and were friendly and hard working). My only real gripe (as everything else, including the eclectic artwork and photography, unique ephemera and mismatched tables and chairs, just seemed to enhance the "character" there) was that the place wasn't particularly clean. Saw a staff member carrying through the main dining area a very dirty white 5 gallon bucket with a filthy lid. Not sure what that was for but shouldn't have been visible. Also peaked in the kitchen when going to restroom and again, saw it needed a good scrubbing, at the least. Station where silverware, sugar, napkins, etc were located shared with microwave and dirty gray bussing bins which were overflowing or not present needed to be cleaned or better yet - replaced. Anyway - I'd return for a beverage to go if in the area again.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emcfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I love this place; it is my go to coffee and breakfast place when I visit Flag. I just spent two days there and made a point of walking to Macy's when it opened for the amazingly fluffy steamed eggs and spinach and my triple americano. As a vegetarian, I really appreciate the menu because I can have everything on it, and the coffee--which they roast-- is the best. I bought two pounds to bring back home to Washington DC because the coffee is better than I can get here, which says a lot. The place also has a great relaxed vibe that I love.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TCTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good if you're not weird about weird”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Better people watching than a Wal-Mart! Very eclectic crowd and good coffee. Macy's is clearly a fixture in the Flagstaff scene. Crowded even mid-morning on a holiday week. Kids enjoyed hot chocolate while we got two Americanos. I've eaten there before and enjoyed the quality and taste. you certainly get the odd character stopping by or wandering around but that's Flagstaff. Macy's is a good spot to hang out for a drink and take in the local populace.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wake up and smell the coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

delicious fresh hot coffee, outstanding and quick barristas! even if the line is out the door, you will have your coffee in no time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing