We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!”

Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Absolutely Delicious. We're in Flag practically every other weekend. We go here and then to biffs.

Macy's has delicious coffee made with fresh, in-house, roasted coffee beans. Mocha's and Macy's special made with amazing cocoa imported from Denmark (i believe). We bought 2 pounds of the cocoa and put in our coffee every morning when we're not in flag.

Food: Surprisingly delicious, albeit limited to vegetarian and vegan options.

Great quiche,
Good thin crust pizza
Healthy serving of yogurt and fruit/granola

Negative: It gets extremely crowded -- but well worth the wait.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank marcusmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    148
    19
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A good cappucino”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Called in for a coffee after walking around Flagstaff and happened to arrive in the so-called happy hour. Ordered 2 cappucinos which arrived in cups without saucers. After hanging around at the counter for a few seconds expecting to get saucers as well we gave up and sat down. Looked around for saucers as thought maybe you have to get your own but to no avail. No European coffee is served without a saucer! A petty point maybe but important to us Europeans! Have to say coffee was good, nice and strong. The cafe was pretty crowded and they were doing a busy trade but please give out saucers!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wonderar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in town, Home-made Bakery”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Try the Espressito for surprising sweetness without sugar... They manipulate the pour of their excellent in-house roasted espresso to create one of the best espresso's anywhere in the U.S. Try the home made whole wheat bread (big slices) with apricot jam and butter. Veggie choices if that's your preference.

Nice street-side tables and free wifi. Pleasant staff. Nice to see some improvements in hygiene. This seems to be a frequent problem in AZ.

Helpful?
Thank michael3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, local coffee shop”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a great, not-catering-to-tourists place. We got excellent lattes, sat outside, and read for a while, just soaking up life along the street in Flagstaff. Hip place, with lots of funky types around - clearly a local establishment, which we loved!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I don't understand . . .”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are a local college student in Flagstaff, maybe you can love this place. Several friends of ours recommended it to us, so we were excited to give it a try. And it just wasn't nice. Most of the reviews have stated the drawbacks, while still giving this place a positive review, and it just doesn't live up to the hype. Yes, you wait in long lines. We had coffee instead of espresso drinks, so I can't speak on those. They served french press, and that's how we prefer our coffee, but to order the french press, we had to turn in our driver's license while we were using it, which is ridiculous. Then, after finally getting through line and finding an open table, we didn't have a timer or anything to use for the rather decrepit looking press, and had to guess when it was ready. There is no cream or sugar available for the tables, so if you are staying in house for coffee, you have to keep getting up to fix your cup, while avoiding all the other people trying to do the same. Craziness. The atmosphere is crazy and crowded - it did not have a good vibe, in my humble opinion. And the real kicker - don't order their pastries. I don't know why they call themselves a European bakery, or why their cinnamon role is considered french, except they use puff pastry for the dough, which is a huge mistake. Puff pastry make a light, layered, beautiful croissant. At Macy's it makes a heavy, doughy, rubbery cinnamon roll that is loaded with sugar. There is nothing remotely french about it, and if things hadn't been so crazy there I would have told someone instead of writing them a bad review. Unless you are a local and already love the place, just avoid it altogether.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InnkeeperAllAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Macy's Fresh Roasted Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing