We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful waterfall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Falls of the Little Colorado River

Grand Falls of the Little Colorado River
Flagstaff, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 95 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spring time is usually the best time to visit. Sometimes it is great during heavy monsoons seasons it flows but not nearly as reliable as in the spring.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flagstaffclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This place is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Niagara Falls of the south west. Has great picture opts and is a great place to take anyone whether they use a camera or just their memories.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morales0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Willy Wonka in AZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had heard the falls only run during the Spring snowmelt. Then I found out that our great monsoon season had provided water for the falls. A long washboard road later (not in a 4WD vehicle but a regular car) we were blessed with the incredible sight of Grand Chocolate Falls.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank T508537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“When They Run...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The falls require e a long and bumpy drive on dirt roads to access (higher profile vehicle recommended), but well worth it for the high drama of the stark setting and the gushing chocolate-colored water down and around the Little Colorado's bed.

As others have noted, they are very seasonal, so check and make sure they are running before making the drive.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NikkiAnamCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild Wild West
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Make Sure the River is Flowing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I wish I had allowed more time for this one. Getting there is fun, if you're the adventurous type. It was not difficult to find, but it is a little way out there. We probably spent around an hour, but I could easily have spent the entire day hiking around the falls and taking pictures from different angles. I had no assurance that the water flow would be good, but in the spring it seems like a pretty good bet that snow runoff from the White Mountains will have the Little Colorado flowing. One of the previous reviewers linked to a site where you can check the water flow, I would highly suggest this so that your trip is worth it. If there's not much water, it would probably be a wasted trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Falls of the Little Colorado River also viewed

 

Been to Grand Falls of the Little Colorado River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing