We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, Cheap, Great Place For Budget Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel
Save
You added Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, Cheap, Great Place For Budget Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here in the end of March, beginning of April. Nice common room with some games, two kitchens available. There's a natural food market within walking distance to buy groceries or supplies to cook. Reception hours posted on website are not necessarily accurate, but maybe this is an off-season thing. We were also told that breakfast during the week was not at the DuBeau common area, but at the Grand Canyon Hostel (their sister location), which is a block or so away. That's apparently an off-season thing as well, but we didn't know that until we got there. Hot water takes about 10 minutes to kick in in the showers, but is nice and hot once it starts. Website says free coffee available all day, but we were told we had to make it if we wanted it. Not a big deal, but not what we expected. Great staff, good location near train station. They give you a ride to Greyhound station, which is not really walking distance. DuBeau is very near a rock/metal bar, so there were loud bands playing across the street on the weekend, but nice and quiet during the week. Ended up wishing we had stayed in the Grand Canyon hostel instead, but still a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
29
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We arrived in Flagstaff in a snow storm and were very happy when we got to our room. We had a private room with bathroom, felt more like a hotel than hostel. Warm comfortable bed and good shower. Receptionist gave good information for dinner close by. No breakfast was included.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flicka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Private room. Very clean and comfortable. Price included breakfast, Wi Fi.
You can also cook other meals in a shared kitchen. Eat in the dining room, outside in the courtyard or in your room. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. The great staff will even pick you up from the Greyhound depot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I took a weekend trip up Flagstaff to see a little fall and head up to the Grand Canyon. We chose the DuBeau Hostel because it was the most affordable option in the area we wanted. We got a private room, which unlike their sister hostel, had its own bathroom. The hostel had all kinds of character, two kitchens, free wi-fi and provided breakfast and coffee in the morning. The staff were also super friendly.

The room itself was small. We got the economy private room, and not the deluxe, so we expected this. We could've used a little more room around the bed, but it worked. We also had a desk and a mini fridge (which was great!). I will note that the heater worked great, and a/c wasn't an issue in the fall. I do wish they could have turned on the heat before we got there, as the room was very chilly when we first got there.

We loved being close to the bars, breweries and coffee shops. This also comes with being close to the train, though, and that was very noisy. But this is by no means the hostel's fault, and you're going to get that at any downtown Flagstaff hotel. If this is something that will bother you, try not to stay anywhere central.

The hostel served as a nice little home base for our trip. Now, if this place was called a hotel, or even a motel, I'd rate it quite a bit lower. But, this is a hostel, and I think for what we paid I really enjoyed it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendalyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petone, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really enjoyed the ambience at the DuBeau. Friendly staff and owners, great lounge to hang out in and chat, adequate kitchen and breakfast, good internet access.
It is near the rail line but I never really noticed the trains and the location is otherwise perfect for exploring downtown Flagstaff.
Rooms are basic but adequate and clean. There's off street parking and you can chat to fellow travellers over the dining table. So much better than motel living.
It's more laid back than big city hostels, so the desk isn't always manned, security is pretty loose, and food storage is a bit chaotic, but that's what you'd expect in a small town and it was never a problem. Can't imagine what the reviewer that dissed it so badly was expecting. You just can't please some people.
I wouldn't think of going anywhere else in Flagstaff.

Room Tip: The private room with two doubles is a good option if you don't like sharing a dorm. Book it ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Loved my stay here, really good crowd there and the noise of trains was really pleasant. Although you might need earplugs if you are a light sleep as not only do you have to contend with the choo choos, but there is an interesting heater that fires up in one of the private rooms that scared the bejesus out of me at 3 in the morning. Lovely place though.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as right by the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neurotictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped by du Beau Hostel for one night during a roadtrip. Impossible to sleep, too noisy, no curtain, small bed, not comfortable at all, and tiny dirty bathroom. Never go there. The price is way too high for the quality! We paid 75$, and another couple paid 25$ for the same room!
Breakfast, by the way, was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellofaroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We are happy to hear that our free breakfast was good, but of course are concerned when a guest is dissatisfied with their overall experience. We would like to clarify that we do not have any double occupancy private rooms that cost $75 per night. The highest rate we currently have is $68 on a weekend night in the high season (March – October), which includes tax, breakfast, parking and WI FI. We also charge a $5.00 key deposit which is refunded when the key is returned to us. We never negotiate our rates since they are published in travel guides and on our website. Dormitory style rooms, which cost $24 per bed in the high season, might be the cause for this person’s confusion about our rates, but we are absolutely certain that no 2 guests were charged different rates for the same type of accommodation.

The DuBeau Hostel is located downtown and one block from the Amtrak station. A number of years ago the city passed a law to stop the train horns from blowing, though occasionally they may sound for emergencies. The downtown area can sometimes be noisy due to the surrounding nightlife and pedestrian friendly walkways, so this is something guests should take into consideration when choosing lodging in Flagstaff. Though smaller than most modern hotel rooms each private room has a bathroom, and is simply furnished with a double bed, desk (and curtains). We are proud of the quality of our product expressed by the overwhelming majority of folks who comment on Trip Advisor and regret that the writer of this comment did not relay their concerns to a staff member, as we will always do our best to ensure our guests leave satisfied. We look forward to continuing to host the many travelers who are visiting Northern Arizona and the Grand Canyon and welcome feedback so we may continue to improve our facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.3 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#16 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Vista
Hotel Monte Vista
#30 of 64 in Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
1.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

Property: Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel
Address: 19 West Phoenix Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly DuBeau International Hostel)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DuBeau's Motel Inn was built in 1929 on the original Route 66 corridor in downtown Flagstaff. Its colorful history and distinctive character make it a popular respite for adventurers from around the world, who congregate here to share travel tales, meals and more. The DuBeau is the perfect choice for folks who are looking for clean, affordable accommodations with the added convenience of walking from your door to explore the historic downtown district, with its many eateries, breweries, art galleries and more. Often referred to as a "hidden gem", the new and improved Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is truly unique. The entire facility has been lovingly restored, but hasn't lost its old world charm and spunky spirit! Accommodation options include quaint en-suite private rooms & cheerful shared dormitories. Breakfast, Wi-Fi & off-street parking are complimentary and our rates include all taxes, so it's easy to understand the total price you will pay - no surprises here! For added convenience, we also have a fully equipped kitchen & laundry facilities available for guest use. We're excited to introduce our brand new beer and wine bar; Nomads Global Lounge - "Where the World Comes to Mingle"! Due to open in July of 2015, this travel themed adult watering hole will bring visitors and locals together, in a relaxing, nature inspired environment. We hope you'll join us for a cool beverage during your stay! And don't forget...The magnificent Grand Canyon is only a 1.5 Hour drive from Flagstaff. We offer awesome day hiking tours at an unbeatable price! If you're in the mood for a friendly, stylish place to rest up for your next travel adventure - Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dubeau International Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing