We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop off place in Flagstaff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I always stay here when I arrive in Flagstaff. The rooms are spartan, and the cleanliness is average, but they work. The beds are comfortable and the heaters work well in winter. The common building has a free pool table and two kitchens with lots of utensils, so one can cook a good meal there. The train noise is near the hostel, so one might need ear plugs. The private rooms are cozy and small for the traveler. You will have to wait for ten minutes before the shower turns warm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 103 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place is just a stone throw away the flagstaff Amtrak station. They have billiards and juke box and the staff are extra friendly. They also offer the best deal if you are planning to do a day hike at the Grand Canyon. The room rates includes a simple breakfast (bread, jam, coffee) if you want something more theres a mexican place just acroos the street.

Room Tip: You can check-in anytime of the day until midnight. Feels like you are at a relative's house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The room with wooden floor and two windows, simple and small. Bathroom ensuite. The best of the hostel is to be two minutes walking to the city centre and the beautiful living room where you can enjoy the billiard and music after dinner.
Free pc for guests
Despite of the other guests, we enjoyed the sound and the wiew of the trains! Flagstaff is an old charming little town and if you look at he buildings you can think to be in Scotland Glasgow.
In front of the hostel there is a good sky theme pub where we had dinner, you can choice also veggie burger and drink flagstaff beer

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia_liguria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I am travelling around the US on a gap year and my friend and I planned to stay in Flagstaff for 2 nights, we ended up stay 5!! The staff were fantastic, the rooms we clean and spacious and all of the other guests were really nice. A massive plus was being able to check in at any time and being able to stay in the hostel during the day. Only one TINY downfall was that wifi only worked in the main building and not the rooms.

Room Tip: private rooms are only $6 extra a night for 2 people - worth the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The story goes like this: having booked my trip online the website that I used gave me the option of a cheap chain motel in Flagstaff. Then I found DuBeau in a travel guide and, remembering all of my previous experiences with hostels and being a solo traveller, decided to take my chances on it. I'm glad I did!

The Rooms
This hostel offers amazing value in whatever accommodation style you choose. I stayed in one of the dorm bed rooms, which are actually re-purposed motel rooms. Despite the passing trains, it is a good nights sleep and other guests are generally respectful of quiet hours. The rooms are NOT air-conditioned, so they can be a bit stuffy. Also, each dorm bed room has it's own ensuite bathroom with shower. It seemed at first there was no hot water in the shower, but I soon figured out that the trick is to let the water run for about 5-10 minutes for it to get hot.
The location is ideal, right in downtown Flagstaff a block from the train station and close to bars, clubs, restaurants and shopping.

The Atmosphere
Can't be beat! There is a constant stream of newcomer guests from all over the world to share travel stories with. A nice, retro Route 66 decorated game room is a great place to chill out after a day on the road or around town.

The Staff
Always available, very knowledgeable of the area. Upon arrival they will give you their grand tour of the property, explaining it's facilities and policies.

Extra Perks
Free continental Breakfast and coffee all day!
Free Wifi hostel-wide, the password and network are conveniently printed on the back of your keyfob. There is also a PC terminal if you didn't bring a wi-fi device.
Large common kitchen facilities with in room fridges as well
Free hostel-sponsored party with drinks most Saturday nights
Laundry facilities that, for me at least, are cheaper than doing laundry at home!
The opportunity to work for the hostel to earn your night's stay
Tours and excursions offered to Sedona, Grand Canyon and other destinations.

In short, having stayed in multiple hostels in Europe, the US and elsewhere, this one is top of my list. You'll be glad you came.

Room Tip: Remember to let the water in the shower run for 5-10 minutes for hot water. Also, make sure especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voiceunderground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I am a travel agent and stayed here two nights while visiting the Grand Canyon. Upon arrival, Elyse gave me a tour of the property (which I did not expect) and was very courteous at check-in. I booked a private room and I was glad I did - it was quite small, but clean and perfect for one person. It had an ensuite bathroom which was also small but adequate for my needs. Even though I was near the road, noise was not an issue; I got two good nights' sleep!

The free breakfast provided is adequate, with porridge and healthy options to choose from (and surprisingly good coffee!). There are two kitchens on-site and a lounge area with free foozball and pool tables for guests. There was a room for internet at $2/half hour if you did not have your own device to use the free wi-fi. Most of all, the area was great - several unique local dining options were within a couple of blocks' walking distance.

The real highlight of my stay was the Grand Canyon tour offered by the hotel. At $85 per person it's substantially cheaper than a lot of other tours out there yet provided good value for money. Our guide, Dan, brought us to several lookouts as well as down a trail 800 feet into the canyon. A great day and a trip highlight for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCAGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Despite the proximity of the railroad track, the place is nice, very clean room, super friendly staff and unbeatable price for Flagstaff (USD56$).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baptiste J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.3 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#20 of 66 in Flagstaff
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#34 of 66 in Flagstaff
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Vista
Hotel Monte Vista
#31 of 66 in Flagstaff
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

Address: 19 W Phoenix Ave, Flagstaff, AZ, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5509 (Formerly DuBeau International Hostel)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range: $15 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DuBeau's Motel Inn was built in 1929 on the original Route 66 corridor in downtown Flagstaff. Its colorful history and distinctive character make it a popular respite for adventurers from around the world, who congregate here to share travel tales, meals and more. The DuBeau is the perfect choice for folks who are looking for clean, affordable accommodations with the added convenience of walking from your door to explore the historic downtown district, with its many eateries, breweries, art galleries and more. Often referred to as a "hidden gem", the new and improved Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is truly unique. The entire facility has been lovingly restored, but hasn't lost its old world charm and spunky spirit! Accommodation options include quaint en-suite private rooms & cheerful shared dormitories. Breakfast, Wi-Fi & off-street parking are complimentary and our rates include all taxes, so it's easy to understand the total price you will pay - no surprises here! For added convenience, we also have a fully equipped kitchen & laundry facilities available for guest use. We're excited to introduce our brand new beer and wine bar; Nomads Global Lounge - "Where the World Comes to Mingle"! Due to open in July of 2015, this travel themed adult watering hole will bring visitors and locals together, in a relaxing, nature inspired environment. We hope you'll join us for a cool beverage during your stay! And don't forget...The magnificent Grand Canyon is only a 1.5 Hour drive from Flagstaff. We offer awesome day hiking tours at an unbeatable price! If you're in the mood for a friendly, stylish place to rest up for your next travel adventure - Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel is it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dubeau International Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing