We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this house.”

Riordan Mansion State Historic Park
Ranked #8 of 107 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1904 for two Riordan families, Riordan Mansion is an impressive reminder of gracious living in a small, territorial logging town. The historic building is an Arizona treasure — a remarkable example of Arts and Crafts style architecture featuring a rustic exterior of log-slab siding, volcanic stone arches, and hand-split wooden shingles. The expansive home has forty rooms, over 13,000 square-feet of living area, and servants' quarters. The Riordan residence was designed by the creator of Grand Canyon's El Tovar Hotel, Charles Whittlesey.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love this house.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I took my adult children here to tour the house. It is worth the $10 per person fee to tour the house. The history is interesting and I love the architecture on the house. We all loved it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cbostwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    134
    26
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A Gem in Flagstaff - Stickley Heaven!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This lovely and unique craftsman style "mansion" is surrounded by modern development (Northern Arizona University) but once you are on the grounds, the surrounding forest is just dense enough that you feel you are transported back to the time this home was built. Despite the "State Park" designation, we learned it receives no funding from the state and relies on tour fees, donations, gift shop sales, and many volunteers to stay open. With that in mind, they do a remarkable job maintaining this old structure and offering excellent guided tours.

Our one-hour tour was fascinating and our excellent guide, Charlotte, provided in-depth commentary. The home is actually a duplex and the guided tour focuses on one half of the house, while the other half is set up like a museum with displays. The half that is on the tour still retains most of its original furnishings, including many lovely Stickley pieces. The dining room is particularly lovely with a uniquely-shaped table that I just might have to replicate someday! The home has all the typical craftsman-style charms but was also innovative in its day, being the first house in town with electricity, running water, and a brilliant ventilation system.

The grounds are simple but lovely, and a free brochure available in the gift shop enables a self-guided tour of the exterior that takes about 15 minutes. The shop is quite nice with some interesting items for sale, plus there are some vintage Stickley chairs you can sit on - always a treat!

Note that you cannot take photos in the guided-half of the house, but the shop sells a beautiful 12-page booklet with professional photos and commentary for $5 - you couldn't possibly take better photos yourself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jameskul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A must see for Flag”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A fantastic example of craftsman style architecture- the original brothers really understood and loved their environment, evidenced in the foresight in planning and building. The docent-lead tour of the house are both informative and entertaining (been there twice now). The house is two story, and if you are not able to get out of a wheelchair and climb the stairs, you miss out on the bedrooms (the rest of the house is still soooo worth it). But if you *can* climb stairs, a volunteer will help- be sure to notify the staff in advance. One nice volunteer carried my daughter's travel chair up *and* down the stairs for me

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing building for its time”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were so incredibly surprised and inspired by the architectural elements and comfort/efficiency of this 'house'. So many methods used were well ahead of their time - conduction to move hot/cool air around, the entry fireplace niches to warm up in the winter, natural lighting. Ample period pieces really takes you back in time. What brave women the wives must have been!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely peice of history”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The park relies on volunteers to maintain the mansion and provide educational tours which are wonderful. I have taken several friends through Riordian at different times of the year, each time I learn something new!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riordan Mansion State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Riordan Mansion State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing