We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's cheap & OK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's cheap & OK!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I believe you do get what you pay for and this place is no different.

We'd booked 2 nights but wished we'd only booked the one when we arrived. They wouldn't change the booking which was to be expected given the cancellation policy was something like 3 days in advance.

The first room we stayed in was a big but very dark room (in fact it was the one that is shown as the main photo here with the sofa) but it looked a lot more dilapidated than in the picture.

There was a very loud rumbling noise throughout the night which kept waking us up. I put it down to trains on the track across the road. In the morning I noticed that no trains were in sight when the noise was kicking off so went to reception. It was a known fault - something to do with the plumbing - so we were moved to another room.

The second room was smaller but brighter. It had a micro and fridge but no coffee machine (which we asked for as the other room had one but it never materialised). It wasn't particularly well maintained but clean enough and the bed sheets / towels were clean. We at least slept better in this room without the rumbling throughout the night.

Breakfast was OK - cereal, toast & juice.

The location was OK. The train line didn't bother us in the night and even though it's on a busy road, it wasn't too noisy. Flagstaff was a short drive away. We would have walked had it not been an unseasonably cold day. There's a Walmart nearby and a KFC virtually next door plus plenty of places to eat on the way into and in town - Flagstaff is not short of restaurants!

One night would have been fine here - in the second room anyway. I didn't find it a particularly friendly place and it's a little run down but what can you expect for the price?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviflagstaffe, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for offering extensive comments about this hotel. We sincerely appreciate them. We strive to offer the best possible combination of value, convenience and customer service. It sounds like we fell short in some ways during your stay, and I sincerely apologize for that. We’re getting better every day, and I hope you’ll try us again. We try for 100 percent satisfaction of every guest, every day.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    33
    15
    22
See reviews for
33
50
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great if you're travelling on a budget & just want somewhere to bed down. Room was clean, bed was comfy & everything worked. Staff were helpfull.
$30 for bed & breakfast, you really can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_Lamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This property is about 30 minutes walk from Flagstaff town centre. Price was quite good and rooms were big. Housekeeping was a joke - in about a week my room was made twice! towels were replaced daily thats about it. The bedding had holes and rips all over and was very run down. Bed felt like it needed a new mattress, unless you love to have different springs sticking out the bed! The door had lost its lock and had a split through- looked like the door had been kicked in at some time in the past. Its ok if your out allday and have a car and stay 2 or 3 nights. If you stay for a week stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelreview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviflagstaffe, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting about the maintenance and housekeeping issues you experienced during your extended stay with us -- and thanks for spending a week at our property. Since your stay, we’ve made significant upgrades to bedding, room security and other features that we believe improve the value of our hotel. I apologize that those things were not done before your stay. If you visit the area again, please come see how we’ve improved.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here in early April 2012. The room was clean, bed was firm, room had mini-fridge, microwave, TV. It was quiet and there were no bed bugs. We had a good night's sleep and a nice warm shower in the morning. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgilx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

You can't expect a 5-star hotel for $30 a night. This place was a great price, was clean and smelled good. It is pretty old so the water pressure wasn't great but otherwise the room was perfect. Everything worked, including the outlets. The parking area is well lit so I felt safe leaving a car full of my belongings there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Appauling hotel, dirty, nasty smell, very thin walls - could hear everything from the room above, rubbish left in bins, room not cleaned, and bed bugs! Plenty of other better hotels nearby to stay in rather than this one.

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel, choose another one nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carrie0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviflagstaffe, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

While I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations, I strongly refute the allegation of an insect problem at our property. That has never been an issue for us due to the climate here. In any case, the hotel has been upgraded and improved in many ways since your stay with us more than two years ago, and I challenge you to come see how we’ve changed and improved since then. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I just wanted to say THANK YOU to the wonderful staff at the Flagstaff Inn. My husband and I were doing our annual mini vacation to Flagstaff and decided to try a new hotel. It was clean, the front desk was very friendly and helpful, and even though we didnt eat the food- it smelled delicious! The grounds were clean and the room was VERY clean (not a dust bunny to be found). I asked for a semi-private room and she put us in the back corner. It was perfect for snuggling in until 10 am without interruption. We'll DEFINATELY be staying here again. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#46 of 65 in Flagstaff
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff East
Travelodge Flagstaff East
#32 of 65 in Flagstaff
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Flagstaff - Butler Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff

Property: Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
Address: 1990 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-5126
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing