We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't let the drug busts fool you, this place is a dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Autolodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Autolodge Motel
Ranked #61 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Prescott Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“don't let the drug busts fool you, this place is a dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

wow... what a dump. in all respects, we are discussing one of the lowest-end motels in the nation. this hotel ranked right along some of the lowest hotels we've stayed in tiny frontier towns of undeveloped nations where we regularly travel. I'll just highlight a few of the problems: twice police arrested guests and took them away during one-night stay (that, however, was a good thing... as they did not tolerate major criminals and miscreants (just minor ones). continuous noise from drugged out folks (or, perhaps, a just-activated sleeper cell) in nearby rooms and i swear one woman was giving birth over bonanza reruns. the room's main windows looking out on parking lot do not lock (easily opened from outside by our five-year old). When i found the night folks (cleaning up the room in the middle of the night after the drug bust) and asked for a lock, they couldn't find one so i borrowed the little sill-lock from that room. The cleaning woman confided in me that her room's window didn't lock either (from other reviews, it appears that none of the windows close). inspired by the drug dealers and my little kids beside me, I installed my own locking mechanisms on the window (using shower curtain rod). i think that would have allowed me to calm down and go to sleep if it wasn't for the birth next door and the guys above us on speed or meth or whatever. Bathroom window was also permanently open (broken) so we had to use towels to block out the 15 degree cold (i just tried to forget about the easy entrance opportunities... figuring the motel mates would be too wasted to climb up the window given the easy access through the main front one). Exhausted from the repairs, i tried to take a shower and alternatively scalded and froze myself until, dejected, i gave up that one last creature comfort returning to the 40 degree room to sleep. too wet and cold, i decided that the broken thermostat would not win its battle against my family's comfort so i jerry-rigged it to get the heater to come on and after an hour, the room was a downright tropical 60. I will admit that the bed was comfortable but pillow felt like a rock quarry. I might have ventured out for some more blankets but the black ice all over parking lot made me feel like just calling it a night. my uber hard-core wife kept telling me that in El Salvador this would be a palace... i corrected her that in the hinterlands of even El Salvador this place would be more like a tool shed. she slept fine... i stayed up wondering if the meth lab upstairs would blow and if the baby was a girl or boy. all that said, i will say one thing positive about this dump: the guy at the front desk (TJ or something like that) was about as nice a guy as one can find ... professional and calm and willing to help. He also had the cops on speed dial which came in handy a few times that night... and seemed real chummy with them... as it seems the cops were regulars too. My advice: blow the extra 10$ and find a place where you can actually sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank RunAndHide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    3
    21
See reviews for
7
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We looked at the pictures of the hotel online and couldn't believe the price! The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and they had free wifi & cable. Our window didn't shut but a member of staff came up and put a lock on it for us. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was loud from near by traffic and the bathroom was small. I wouldn't stay here with a family but it is fine for a travelling couple or individual stopping a night. The room was $25 so expect the basics. The guys who are running it now are new and are changing things as quickly as they can.

We were comfortable until we read the Tripadvisor reviews, and although we never experienced anything that bad, the hotel needs to improve the security of the rooms before we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Huizen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very dirty and overprised motel. Keep away.
Why is this building still standing?
Evertything is broken, paintless.
We couldn't lock our window.
The staff didn't do anything, only smoking sigarettes outside. Not interested in his customers.
It's a place for junkies and other unreliable people.

The only good thing is that it's next to Starbucks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HuizenAnoniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

While my wife and I slept, someone broke the exterior window next to the door and attempted to gain entry into our room. My wife and I awoke sharply and I told her immediately to call the cops as I attempted to chase after the native american man who did get away. Cops arrived minutes later and also were not successful in finding the burglar. The manager relocated us to an alternate room but did not ease my wifes worries. The odvious 1 star is not for the horrible bed, yellow not white sheets, lack of towels, potential beg bugs, dirty shower and stained carpet common in these motels but the fact that my wife and mine's safety was at stake warranted a reccomendation to all future travelers to avoid this place at all cost

Room Tip: If you do stay, check the windows and doors to ensure they are secure
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Clark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed in plenty of dives over the years. This was one of the worst. There was a big clump of dark hair in the shower drain, the shower door was broken and the water never got above tepid. I took one cold shower but that was it. The furniture was old, beat up and some of it looked like it had been gnawed on. I'm not going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was probably the worst motel we have stayed at. The blankets and sheets were dirty and smelled of urine. The towels were dirty and looked like they hadn't been washed. When taking a shower, the warm water laster for about 5 minutes, and then it was cold for the rest of the shower. The window was open since it didn't close or lock. Not to mention there were lots of roaches on the stairway outside the room. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! It is definitely not worth the overpriced $80/night, and not a good choice when traveling with children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Citlali_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

ALL the towels were disgusting you can see the dirt on the towels, they look as if they have never been washed. The sheets on the bed were harsh and static where they did not use dryer sheets or softner. The small window A/C unit did not work we had to purchase a fan at walmart to cool the room down!! Windows didn't lock or have screen on them and the door didn't close all the way. The flooring of the room felt you could fall right through them. Small Parking lot and very disgusting with motor oil everywhere. Also, check out was at 11:00 and the cleaning crew knock and stated check out was at 10:00 and we were rushed to get out of the room. Photos of room or the motel are nothing what it really looks like a DUMP!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Conference Center Nau/downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#23 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#18 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Inn
America's Best Inn
#38 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autolodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autolodge Motel

Property: Autolodge Motel
Address: 1313 S Milton Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6346
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing