We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST PIZZA THIS SIDE OF THE MISSISSIPPI”
Review of Pizzicletta

Pizzicletta
Ranked #15 of 349 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
257 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“THE BEST PIZZA THIS SIDE OF THE MISSISSIPPI”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We came across this restaurant by accident (five weeks ago when in Flagstaff we saw a line out of this place and made us wonder about it). What a pleasant surprise this was. I could not possibly tell you in words how wonderful the entire experience was. If you close your eyes you could easily be in a little pizza place in Florence or Rome. We loved the seating, so European (one long bench that goes across the front of the restaurant, plus some bar style seating looking out the window and cute little tables outside). The food was very fresh (you see all the fresh ingredients as they are making the pizza). The menu is limited so they can make everything on it to perfections. The pizza and the bread came out of the wood burning oven cooked absolutely perfect. It was as good or even better than some we had in Italy. The staff was very nice. It's nice to see the owner there in the middle of it all. The Gelato was AMAZING!!!!! The pistachio gelato was not flavored pistachio, it was chunks and chunks of pistachios in it. We even bought a loaf of bread to take for the next day, which was incredible just like the bread in Europe. We can't wait to go back and will let all of our friends know about it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niloofar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    45
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campo Verde
Level Contributor
1 review
“Refreshing”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you like dominoes this is not the place for you. Its like Pizza you get in Italy! The Wine list is good. Worth the wait. This was my second visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SupperTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expectations vs reality”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We read about this in a local magazine. The place is VERY small. You sign your name on a chalkboard and then wait outside. Not fun if it is cold and rainy. They recommend waiting at the brewery a few doors down, but they would need an intercom or some sort of buzzer. The food itself was just okay. The wait staff was attentive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sregonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have tried some of the top Pizzeria's in the worls,Luzzo's,Patsy's,(NYC) Di Farra (Brooklyn).... Da Michelle (Naples) and every other pizza joint in Naples....Pizza Bianco (Phoenix).Then i arrived in Flagstaff and tried Pizzicletta it was a small place but evrything looked very hip and clean....the severs (2 young ladies)were very friendly and attentive,the menu is just how i like it small not alot of options. I had the goat cheese pine nut salad(the only salad they have) and it was fresh and tasty and well balanced Loved it !!....Now to the Pizza,I give it a 7 out of 10 the sauce was Excellent the Bottom of the pie was charred almost perfect the only part that bothered me was the crust it was too puffed (not pinched enough ) so you only get a bite and a half of sauce and cheese then alot of crust,also there could have been a tad bit more mozzi and we ordered it with basil and there was only 2 leaves....I think Pizzicletta is Equal to Pizza Bianco n Phoenix (This pizzeria was on Oprah) but they do have a way to go to to match Luzzo's,Pasty's,(NYC) or Da Michele's (Naples) but once they master the Crust and and learn to ballance the Mozzi,sauce,crust Ratio they will be top 5 in the USA !!! PIZZICLETTA IS A MUST TRY !!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Sophisticated Surprise in Flagstaff”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Last October, my wife and I found Pizzacletta before it hit TripAdvisor. We had a wonderful meal with a huge salad, delicious made-as-we-watched pizza, good wines and a fabulous tiramisu gelato.

When we knew we were headed back to Flagstaff last week, we also knew we were going back to Pizzacletta.

Our second experience affirmed our first impressions. This time we tried two different pizzas, different wines and a mint gelato. Everything lived up to our expectations. Whew!

Seating is casual and somewhat family style though the way they’ve constructed the long table, it affords privacy for anyone who wants it.

The owner is a friendly and charming young guy, who has built his dream and it shows.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoubleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pizzicletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing