We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The L must stand for lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The L Motel Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The L Motel Flagstaff
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The L must stand for lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A young man at the train station gave me the name of this motel as a recommendation. I was so grateful to him. The gentleman behind the desk(Victor) greeted me with a very warm smile, and was such a gracious host. I was more than pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the bed. The flat panel '46' inch screen along with mini frig. and microwave added to the overall joy I experienced staying here. The cost of the room was the best part. There was a great restaurant across the street named "Granny's Closet" where I enjoyed a lovely Sun. morning breakfast. I really have to mention Victor again as it really says something when you come through the front door and you are greeted with an engaging and inviting attitude. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reallivewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    35
    24
    61
See reviews for
43
81
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed there several times over the years (mainly for location) on the promise each time that they are renovating and/or updating. However so far the only improvement I have seen is the introduction of a large flat screen TV, I can only vouch for that in room 121 . The rooms are small yet they manage to squeeze two double beds in some of them and call it a family room, I was unable to walk around one of the beds, but you can live with that. The view from the rear windows (which I had trouble securing) is an unkept vacant block. The room was dirty, plenty of dust and had some unrepaired damage ie the bathroom door/door jam were destroyed and was inoperable, A/Con too small with no front cover, the main door had some shabby repair work done to it, etc. Breakfast was a joke a couple of stale rolls, at least the coffee had some taste to it. There is no Guest Laundry and no facilities for getting laundry done by the hotel. The staff were friendly but not particullarly helpful. I managed to get all this at Double the Recommended Wed/Thurs price which was more than the week-end prices on the pretext that there were special events happening all over town (Ichecked there wasn't). I informed the manager of this and he deducted ten dollars off the nightly fee still making it double the price to what i found out later, it was worth. To be fair the hotel was nearly full for the two nights I stayed there.

On a positive note it's situated on the Historic Route 66 and it is within walking distance (all within a mile) to Old Town Flagstaff, Bars, Fast Food outlets and Restaurants

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I think a review of one is too high. Where to start. On a Route 66 road trip and have been really impressed with the motels so far, but oh dear...
The only decent thing about the room is the TV...end of story.
Tatty, not terribly clean, hard bed, front door doesn't fit properly. I could go on. Didn't bother with the breakfast.
AVOID!
Find a comfy ditch...

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesJones67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's definitely not a new fancy place, but it manages to preserve the old Route 66 feel. The rooms were adequate, and we were glad to be upgraded with no additional costs. Do not count on eating the breakfast in the breakfast room, though - only one table.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnapurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Staff was friendly and came to AMTRAK station to pick us up at no charge, wouldn't accept a tip. The room was small clean and bed reasonably comfortable. Equipped with microwave and small refrig. This is an older property that is reasonalby maintained. I'd stay here again. I rate is as average because of age and size. It has the nostalgic charm of being on old Route 66. I didn't see historical informatin but I suspect this property was active in the days Route 66 was the main road. It is within easy walking distance of old downtown Flagstaff and the AMTRAK station but I would not want to carry my luggage to the AMTRAK station from the motel. A health food store is nearby..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've stayed there twice taking my daughter to Northern Arizona University for orientation and then to check in to the dorms. The location can't be beat, it's at the NW corner of NAU and within easy walking distance of several restaurants.

The motel itself is fairly old and my guess is that it was there before I-40 existed, back when route 66 was the main road. The address is on Milton Rd where it becomes route 66 for about three blocks. Getting into the parking lot from the south can be a challenge; the road is fairly busy much of the day. This also means the hotel can be a little noisy at night from the traffic.

I've stayed in three different rooms there, 109, 110 and 122. We had to move out of 122 this most recent time due to a problem with them working on the roof when a heavy thunderstorm came through. When I mentioned the drip from the roof the manager came over within minutes and had us in another room in no time. The management and staff have been very friendly and helpful both times I've stayed there.

As I mentioned the hotel is fairly old and each of the three rooms I've stayed at was laid out differently with completely different bath/shower setup. it's as if they've remodeled the hotel over the years, each time deciding on a different way of organizing the room.

The rooms all have large screen TVs, microwaves and fridges as well as a desk/work area. What they lack the most is convenient power. They have power strips by the TV/fridge/microwave but that's about it.

Wi-Fi access was strong in #122 (closest to the street and office) and weak but usable in rooms 109/110, on the west side of the parking lot, farthest from the street.

All in all, if you want to save some money and still stay in a place convenient to NAU and downtown, this Rodeway’s a great place to stay.

Room Tip: East side is closer to route 66 - better Wi-Fi, more traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've noticed a lot of people on here have complained about this motel. I understand where this comes from, however before staying here, keep in mind, you are buying the true historic route 66 experience, not a luxury stay at the Ritz. This hotel is for the adventurous traveler in search of reliving the route 66 days with a couple modern comforts. Wifi is great here and new flat screen TVs have been installed. The Roadway inn is right across from NAU, and just a couple blocks (an easy walk) to downtown Flagstaff. Granted, this may not be the room you want to spend all day lazing around in, but it's location is ideal for those who want a good rate on a clean, authentic route 66 type room for the nights and an active itinerary during the day. Customer service is great--desk clerks are very willing to accommodate guests and address any problems that arise. It seems that improvements are in the plans for the future, and I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Lovetotravel360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Conference Center Nau/downtown
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The L Motel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Motel Flagstaff

Property: The L Motel Flagstaff
Address: 121 S Milton Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5516 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The L Motel Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved features all new rooms with 46 inch or 40 inch LCD/Plasma TV, microwave, fridge and coffee pot, free continental breakfast, located across from Northern Arizona University and just 3 blocks from historical downtown Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The L Motel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Nau Hotel Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing