We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too bad we couldn't explore it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument

Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$741.39*
and up
Private Grand Canyon Tour with Ancient Ruins and Lava Field from Flagstaff
Ranked #5 of 100 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located north of Flagstaff, this crater was created by a volcanic eruption 900 years ago.
central massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too bad we couldn't explore it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were able to drive the road through the NM but park rangers were driving around enforcing the closure of trails and lookouts due to the gov't shutdown.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    487
    120
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was like another world. Don't miss it. There are many other things to see in this area so take your time and don't miss any of them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 19jas50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Since neither of us EVER saw a crater prior to this trip, thought we should see the sights in the area on our "free" day......it was nice. There were other things to see at this facility, so it just wasn't the crater.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
277 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Neat Topography”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice little hike to the crater. Good view of the different soil(?) conditions. Native vegetation along the path. We went with a tour, so our visit was short. Probably still long enough for most folks. You can take some nice photos of this unique environment, up close.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very informative. Beautiful spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We learned a lot on our self-guided tour of the monument. Be sure to stop by the visitor's office and spend $1 on the self-guided tour book. It is very helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank adharris0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing