We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive!”

Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$146.49*
and up
Comprehensive Grand Canyon Tour from Flagstaff
More Info
$146.49*
and up
Comprehensive Grand Canyon Tour from Sedona
More Info
$196.83*
and up
Private Tour of Five National Monuments in Arizona from Sedona
Ranked #4 of 107 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located north of Flagstaff, this crater was created by a volcanic eruption 900 years ago.
Southeastern U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

As I mentioned in my review of Walnut Canyon, my brother is the Head Park Ranger for a few of these places, including Sunset Crater, so we got a very personal tour. But the park is well-suited to self-guided tours, as well. The path through the lava-flow gives you an up-close look at the power of nature. Also check out the twisting of the old pines that have survived centuries of harsh condisitions. We were very fortunate to meet and chat with an AmeriCorps team that was doing trail maintenance.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WhirldWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    538
    138
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow... geologically amazing!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Liked the nice trails to walk. We loved the views and the history of this volcano. We would go again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carlson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Try and do the lava flow trail which is an easy walk, partially paved. Also, stop at visitor center to see the exhibits.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our family thought this was very interesting. We did not have time to see the visitors center, and just walked the Lava Flow Trail. It was not too hard, but you will definitely want to wear sturdy shoes as it's uneven and jagged. The guide book was very informative and easy to follow.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent tour”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The visitors center was great, but even better was the personalized tour by the guide. Excellent stop it was educational, relaxing and not too long. The tour guide had a wonderful sense of humor.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing