We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just ok.. needs overhaul” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just ok.. needs overhaul”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a night during our trip to Grand Canyon, AZ. One night stay was around $150 inclusive of taxes. The hotel is really old and it needs serious renovation. We could hear the footsteps of the people above us. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbendapudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Flagstaff, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Greetings Traveler,

Thank you for the honest feedback regarding your visit to Fairfield Inn Flagstaff. We use the reviews on Trip Advisor as learning tools for our staff. We appreciate your loyalty with Marriott.

Jordan Mauck
Operations Manager
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff
2005 S. Milton Rd.
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
928-773-1300
928-773-1462 (fax)
JordanM@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    396
    306
    131
    54
See reviews for
374
373
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were in Flagstaff for 2 days as we toured the Grand Canyon. Only 1 hour away and an easy drive. Extremely nice staff. The nice lady who hosts the morning breakfast is so incredibly nice (first name started with M). Real asset to you! There were 9 of us traveling and you made us feel very comfortable and welcome. One of kids was not feeling well, she went out of her way to make us feel you were here to help. Also, our other child had a birthday. She went and got a slip for a free candy bar and gave him a book he could assemble a cardboard frog. He absolutely loved it. Made him feel special. Very nice rooms, very clean, great staff. Was also great the hotel is adjacent to a shopping center with a Wal-Mart. We could walk right over and get the stuff we needed. Thx again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BBMB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Flagstaff, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello BBMB B,

We are glad that you had an enjoyable visit to beautiful Flagstaff & to the Grand Canyon. Please do think of Fairfield Inn Flagstaff for future travels. Thank you for your patronage!

Jordan Mauck
Operations Manager
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff
2005 S. Milton Rd.
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
928-773-1300
928-773-1462 (fax)
JordanM@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here with my daughter's softball team, and were disappointed to find that the beds are doubles; not queens as in most hotels. For a family of four, that makes for horrible sleeping conditions. So I went to the lobby to request another room, and was promptly told, "All rooms are the same size." (which they are not). I clarified that I was asking for an additional room - not a different room - as there is no way four people could fit in the room we were given. It was NAU parent weekend and there were conferences and sporting events in town, and they said they had one room left (isn't there always just one room left?), so I forked over $170 for a second room, so we could be comfortable. The rooms are TINY (not even a closet), and the bathroom door nearly hits the toilet when it's opened. (The complimentary shampoo is a half-ounce size; again, not appropriate for one person; much less a family of four). We stayed on the third floor and took the stairs. The trash can outside the hallway entrance smelled so foul - like rancid dairy products. It still smelled the following day. The trash was emptied, but no one bothered to rinse out the trash can. The Jacuzzi and pool were cold, and no pool towels available. Had to go to the lobby to request some, and were given one, instead of a handful to accommodate other swimmers. Also, we entered the elevator as a housekeeping staff member was exiting it, and there was trash all across the floor (a straw and lots of food crumbs), so clearly she chose to ignore that instead of clean it. There was no way she didn't see it.
Paper-thin walls means we heard everything from next door and in the hallway. The ice machine was 6 rooms down, but was so loud that we could hear it rumble from our room.
On the positive side, the room was clean, and the complimentary breakfast was quite nice. A staff member was on hand to refill coffee and clean tables between customers. He was extremely personable.
In the future, though, I will return to my Flagstaff favorite - the Little America. Huge rooms in comparison, and a great gift shop.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_Craig19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Flagstaff, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Greetings Jane,

Thank you for the review regarding your recent visit with us. We apologize for not meeting expectations of what a Marriott visit should be. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your visit with you personally. Please contact me at your convenience.

At Your Service!

Jordan D. Mauck

Assistant General manager
Fairfield Inn by Marriott - Flagstaff
2005 S. Milton Road
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
(928)773-1300 ext 780
jordanm@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We could not stay. The small room smelled stale. Everything looked old and worn. Access is from an outside door as in 1950 style. Beds felt hard. Difficult to believe Marriott rates this hotel as a category 5. It is more like a category 1.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank theConsumeradvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Flagstaff, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you very much for providing viewers with feedback regarding your visit. As stated on the Marriott website, we are in fact a category 4 hotel. We apologize that you were mislead with what to expect. As we are a generation one Marriott property, (almost 20 years old), we understand guests perceive us to be more along the lines of a motel. We do our best to make up for the properties age by providing exceptional service to our guests. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the experience received.

At Your Service!

Jordan D. Mauck
Assistant General Manager

Fairfield Inn by Marriott - Flagstaff
2005 S. Milton Road
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
jordanm@swhm.com
(928)773-1300 ext 780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Paid 150 for room 148, awoke in the middle of night multiple times with the sound akin to a jetplane going off in the walls, not sure root cause, think its a water pressure issue or something. Combine this with hard beds, none of my family received any sleep. We complained at night and they went to move us but it was too late in the night and we were spread out, asked to wait to the morning to gather our stuff. In the morning was told there were no more rooms by rude front desk, manager was engaged and immediately room was found on the third floor. Beds were still hard but less noise. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Go to the third floor, less noisy, dont get room 148
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aztexknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Flagstaff, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Greetings Traveler,

Thank you very much for providing feedback regarding your recent visit to Flagstaff. Unfortunately, we failed to meet the expectations of what a Marriott experience should be. I am embarrassed to hear that a valued guest such as yourself had the experience you did. Please note that the experiences you had will be discussed with the proper departments. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance in booking future reservations down the line. Thank you very much for taking time to address your visit.

Jordan Mauck
Operations Manager
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff
2005 S. Milton Rd.
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
928-773-1300
928-773-1462 (fax)
JordanM@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here during a girls road trip looking for a place to stay. The Hotel Tonight app advertised $75 for the night and the guy at the desk gave us the deal without using the app. Very nice staff here and decent breakfast included. I would stay here again and definitely recommend to friends or family.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SreyaNelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Flagstaff, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello SreyaNelle,

Thank you very much for the kind words regarding your recent visit. We look forward to seeing you for future visits up here in beautiful Flagstaff.

Jordan Mauck
Operations Manager
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff
2005 S. Milton Rd.
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
928-773-1300
928-773-1462 (fax)
JordanM@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I understand that this is a Generation ONE prototype property for the Fairfield brand. Yes, the property is older and there may be some odd features, but I believe there has been a lot of improvement in the past year or so, because we stayed here 2 years ago and it was a completely different experience. The staff here are so helpful and pleasant now, they're professional and seem to really try to help make your stay better. I think so many people can be unrealistic about hotel stays these days. some people are looking for an "experience" while others just want shelter, food and sleep. i think you can get both at this hotel, but let me share a few tips first. Awesome location, close to everything. The 1st & 2nd floors do open to the outside like a motel, and this makes the 1st floor super convenient to the parking for those who will have frequent in & outs; the 2nd floor allows you to take in the views and the nice spring, summer and fall weather standing outside your room; the 3rd floor has interior hallways which is nice if the weather is bad and views of the surrounding mountains and trees. On this trip we stayed in a King bed room on the 3rd floor towards the end of a hallway. The noise from the hallway was minimal. I thought the King bed was very comfortable and from reading other reviews I know there is no one perfect bed for everyone so be realistic. The furniture in our room was very nice and most of all CLEAN, perhaps they have upgraded a little or maybe the furnishings are different in the different type rooms (I don't know). We had a mini fridge and there is a microwave available in the lobby. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but very well maintained, clean and well stocked. The size of the bathroom doesn't bother me personally, but I guess if 2 people are trying to get ready at the same time it is too small. The A/C worked great and is the typical hotel A/C unit. Flat screen TV, radio, ironing board/iron, hair dryer, and coffee maker were all fine. So that's pretty much our room, but now on to this properties best feature: THE STAFF! From our afternoon check-in with Dylan and Sam, our morning questions and requests for Drew and Brenda, breakfast with Raul (?), 2 other front desk gentlemen (that I didn't catch their names) to the housekeeping staff, I felt every one of them exceeded my expectations and really hustled on the job to try to provide the best service they could (and we were there on a busy holiday weekend)! Need more towels? Just ask. Lobby coffee pots empty? Ask them to refill it. Hungry? Ask for restaurant recommendations. They are people, not mind readers, so be patient with all they have to do. Everyone expects perfection and service RIGHT NOW, and I say be courteous and patient and you will get the same in return. If you do this, I think you will enjoy this hotel stay and their service will more than make up for any property shortcomings!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Flagstaff, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello Carolyn,

Thank you very much for the recent review you provided on Trip Advisor! We are extremely proud of the changes we have made over the past year. I will be sure to pass along the positive comments to our staff. Please do not hesitate to contact me to assist you in booking your reservations for future visits to beautiful Flagstaff! Thank you again!

At Your Service!

Jordan D. Mauck
Assistant General Manager

Fairfield Inn by Marriott - Flagstaff
2005 S. Milton Road
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
(928)773-1300 ext. 780
jordanm@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#12 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
#19 of 64 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#17 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Address: 2005 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Flagstaff)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the cool mountain pines of beautiful Northern Arizona, the Baymont Inn & Suites in Flagstaff offers warm, personalized service along with cozy rooms. Experience all the wonderful sites and breath taking monuments that surround the city of Flagstaff. The Grand Canyon, Sedona's Red Rocks, Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater are all within a short drive from the hotel. Flagstaff's popular local attractions include the Lowell Observatory, Arizona Snowbowl, Route 66, Riordan Mansion and the Arboretum. The hotel is conveniently situated within walking distance of numerous restaurants. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff take pride in providing you with all the resources you need to plan the perfect adventure. Let us be your hub for a wonderful Northern Arizona Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Fairfield Flagstaff
Flagstaff Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing