We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
California Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is the third stay at this property, and while I've previously felt it was a good value, I no longer think so. The front desk staff now wears clothing that could be mistaken for the cleaning staff and "service" doesn't seem to be part of their job description.

I asked for directions to the Flagstaff Arboretum, a major attraction, and the young woman at the front desk didn't know what it was. She had to Google it and printed out directions for me. But the directions involved traveling mile after mile on dirt, gravel, deeply rutted service roads when she should have directed me to Route 66.

I've stayed in Room 206 before - which is great because it's away from the pool and at the end of the hotel - but the desk chair was dirty and had who-knows-what kind of stains.

Breakfast has been beefed up to include scrambled eggs and sausage, but this is offset by the poor/no service and decrease in cleanliness.

I'm a Marriott Rewards member and so was especially dismayed to see these changes. With a "senior" discount, the room was $130 a night. Not a great deal.

Room Tip: I still like having a room away from the pool and at the end, so rooms 206 and 306 have been good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloosewomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    517
    429
    179
    98
See reviews for
549
506
94
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn in August 2013. This was our third visit over the past three years and experience was very good and consistent. Staff is friendly and attentive. Our room was on the third floor and had inside hallway entry as opposed to the first/second floor rooms that had outside entry. Room was clean and quiet and meet our expectations. Give them a try.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have inside hallway access as opposed to first/second floor rooms that have outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilgore_Trout_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having just stayed at a JW Marriott the previous week, the differences between the Marriott's top of the line property and the bottom of the line property are very evident. It does not help that the FLG Fairfield Inn appears to be a made over, old hotel (motel) with a few Marriott signs. Our room was clean, beds absurdly hard (and I can sleep on a rock), and there are no hallways, which lends an air of 1960's 'motor lodge' to this property. Stay at the Courtyard up the road and pay a few more bucks for a nicer hotel - yes you'll have to pay for your breakfast at the Courtyard, but I'd happily spend a few more bucks for the Courtyard than this Fairfield.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here twice during a visit to Arizona. The location is convenient to Pulliam Airport and there are a number of stores and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself feels more like a motel than something from the Marriott brand. Our room on the ground floor was not very clean - the lampshade was stained and the fan unit had caked-on dust. It rained the night we were there and the carpet felt damp. The free breakfast was good for this level of hotel. Overall, I would recommend a different hotel, though there don't seem to be many nice ones to choose from in Flagstaff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've stayed in a number of Fairfield Inns over the years. This one should lose its franchise. Based on my experience, the management of this hotel is appalling. They just don't get the details right. The cups in the room leaked water, the breakfast room was constantly out of coffee, the internet login is annoying.

What the hotel horrible? No. But it is run about as well as a state monopoly: think of the Post Office, or the Russian Railroad system and you will understand what I mean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No_Name20L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Amherst, NH
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here one night while traveling through. At a Fairfield Inn, you expect a little bit more, an upscale motel/hotel experience. This Fairfield Inn looks like someone bought a motel and called it a Fairfield Inn. The rooms are small - tiny bathroom, you have to be careful when you open the door so you don’t ‘whack’ the person sitting at the desk. The one lounge chair is right up against the AC unit, which has no temperature control, and only operates off or on.

The bed was comfortable, the internet works fine, and the micro fridge is a nice touch.

Breakfast was not so nice - the breakfast nook is small, they had a bus tour that jammed them up early, then they ran out of large paper plates, and most all of the food - no hardboiled eggs, no scrambled eggs, no sausages, etc. The Sysco truck was uploading supplies as we left. Again, one expects more at a Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rooms were clean standard sized with two beds and with small bathroom. It is good reasonable priced place to stop for a night. The breakfast was average with waffles, mixed fruit, and and muffins. Stayed on third floor in which the rooms were "inside" the hotel. Rooms on 1st and 2nd floor are like motel rooms with the doors outside facing parking lot. My only complaint is odor in the room which smells like wet carpet or mildewed carpet. With the A/C off the room feels kind of muggy. The beds are somewhat comfortable and the softness or firmness doesn't matter when you are tired from long drive. The hotel is close to shopping center with different stores and restaurants and near major highway. Overall, Fairfield Inn served its purpose as pit stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canyanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#13 of 65 in Flagstaff
364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#22 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
993 reviews
0.5 mi away
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
#21 of 65 in Flagstaff
663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Address: 2005 S Milton Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-0805 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Flagstaff)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the cool mountain pines of beautiful Northern Arizona, the Baymont Inn & Suites in Flagstaff offers warm, personalized service along with cozy rooms. Experience all the wonderful sites and breath taking monuments that surround the city of Flagstaff. The Grand Canyon, Sedona's Red Rocks, Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater are all within a short drive from the hotel. Flagstaff's popular local attractions include the Lowell Observatory, Arizona Snowbowl, Route 66, Riordan Mansion and the Arboretum. The hotel is conveniently situated within walking distance of numerous restaurants. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff take pride in providing you with all the resources you need to plan the perfect adventure. Let us be your hub for a wonderful Northern Arizona Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Fairfield Flagstaff
Flagstaff Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing