We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA
Save
You added Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We don't have kids but this KOA is very kid friendly. We had space 159 - a pull through site. Strange they didn't grade entire site. Our picnic table was on severe slant do to hill not be graded level. The RV portion was level but rest of site not so much. They did not clean up all the cigarette butts from previous tenant which littered the site.. The KOA grounds seemed clean - roads are narrow and while you can pull a 40 RV with 18ft trailer through it is tight fit. Staff was very friendly. Internet is basically non-existent and with many tress getting satellite is tricky. We just used their cable for local TV (not available on all sites). Study park map - you can reserve spaces and some are very close to each other. We will return back here for sure.

Room Tip: study RV park map - some sites not so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BnKOnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    70
    37
    22
    12
See reviews for
125
67
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We camped at KOA Flagstaff in July 2014 and left the trailer for a couple of nights when we went to a 3-day trip in the Grand Canyon.

We booked the most expensive site (back-in, full hookups, mountain view with patio, swing, etc.) which was well worth it. It was beautiful and relatively quiet apart from the barking dogs in the tent trailer next door (a definite minus). Overall, the campground feels crammed and it was tight and difficult to get into our site, but the facilities are nice and clean and there are lots of trees, which makes for a pleasant experience.

The location is very good and central, with grocery stores, restaurants nearby. Nice, long extended hours at the front desk and friendly service, and the recycling bins were greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Worth spending a bit more money on the nice sites backing on the national forest & mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEdaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfalds, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Like most KOA Campground this one has a convenience store and has some camping supplies if needed.

Almost all of the camp sites recieved shade at some point during the day. The staff was friendly and helpful. The seemed to a good knowledge of camping and were helpful to several campers around me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richarda855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in the teepee for one night and really enjoyed it. It's a bit hard to get into because you have to scrunch down but inside it's very roomy! We were pleasantly surprised that there was one power cord with a lamp which came in very handy. The bathrooms at the campground are super clean and I was very impressed. Yes, it's noisy because it's right by a main road but I always travel with a sound machine for background noise anyway, so it didn't bother us at all. We got snacks at the snack bar and breakfast at the Kamp Kitchen, which is a trailer where you place and order and sit on picnic tables and eat. The food was amazing and we played games at the table while we waited. Overall a great experience and very nice camp hosts!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed several days in one of the camping cabins (with electricity) and LOVED IT! It's a one-room deal with a fridge, microwave, TV and one double bed and one bunk-bed.

We were a bit concerned that it was going to get noisy as the campground filled up, but were pleasantly surprised. As soon as the sun went down, it got real quiet.

They have a "community center" with a pool table and a water-attraction and jumping castle for the kids. You can also rent some cool "Banana Bikes". Just do it! Can't explain what they are or how they work. They are fun to do at least once.

An entry to the Elden Mountain trail and "Fat Mans Loop" (on same trail) is right outside the campground (the public trailhead is about 1/4 mile away). Fat Mans Loop is pretty easy, but still gives a bit of a workout (it does start at around 6500 ft elevation).

Close enough to Flagstaff (about 3 miles East of downtown) to see the sights, but far enough away to eliminate any city noise or congestion.

The cabins do get quite warm in the afternoon (highs in Flagstaff were around 85 degrees), but as soon as the sun goes down, they are quite comfortable. A couple of nights I had to close the windows as it got a bit too cool.

The WiFi was a bit spotty. I think it has a maximum number of connections: as the place filled up it was harder to get a connection. However, when I got a connection, it worked fine.

The restrooms/showers are cleaned daily (one from 9-11am and the other from 1-3pm) and are kept VERY NICE. Being in the desert, I was concerned that there would be low water pressure or over-zealous flow-reducers in the showers. PLEASANTLY surprised to find good water pressure, nice flow and plenty of hot water.

The staff was friendly and helpful and actually seemed to enjoy working there! We got into several friendly conversations, one of which led to another hike in the area. Nothing like getting the lowdown from the locals.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the camping cabins and skip the tepees (unless you have an overriding need to sleep in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We camped here with our 3 yr old and 20 month old for one reason-camping in a teepee. They are quite large & come with 2 circular beds with a waterproof type cover & a lamp, which sits on a nightstand made of wood and stone. You could easily get 2 air beds on the floor, which is made of pavers and lofted about 5 inches off the ground. The top and bottom portions of the tepees are open a bit, so if it rained you'd be wet. There really wasn't a bug issue, with the exception of some ants. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating-would do it all again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sept_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My daughters cycling team stopped here to sleep before they rode to the Grand Canyon. It was clean, the spots were nice and roomy and the staff was friendly as well. It's also close to town for things like grocery's or pizza if you roll in super late like some of our team did. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
3.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#18 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA

Property: Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA
Address: 5803 N US Highway 89, From I-40 Exit 201, 1/2 mile North US 89 to Page, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Grand Canyon Koa Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing