We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice and quiet although on the NE side of town on the way to Page. We stayed in one of the teepees. Not again. The beds were very uncomfortable and round still quite a kick to stay in one. husband and I are on the tall side so we had issues getting in and out of the teepee. Having said that, we would totally stay at this park in our own tent.

Room Tip: Avoid the teepees unless you want a once in a lifetime experience. Use your own rig or tent and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 310 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

No problems here. Each site had electricity and the bathrooms were clean. Nice place at the foot of the mountain. Lots of activities (that we sadly couldn't participate in). We'd come back to stay again. Just wish parents would watch their children better- almost hit a 6 year old on a bike who didn't seem to realize the roads were being shared.

Room Tip: Those teepees looked like fun but were booked up. Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have stayed at several KOA sites throughout the western US.
This one, by far, is the best yet. Usually, the location is not very nice. This is an exception - really nice. Great staff. Everything very clean. The only amenity that was not there that would make a big difference - pool. It was very warm during our stay.

Room Tip: Traveling to the Grand Canyon? Leave early in the day to avoid the crowds and the heat. Also, consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My friend has already written about our experience but I would also like to say how unhappy I am with the management at the Flagstaff KOA, particularly Janyel Thompson.

We were sat in our hire car on our own camping pitch when an RV drove into the back of us and scratched our car up. The manager Janyel looked to be directing the man driving the RV and despite seeing that we had been hit by the RV proceeded to tell us to move our car over to the other side of our pitch so the RV could park up tight alongside us on the tent site. She then vanished before we got out of the car. 

We found her at the campsite office where there were several other members of staff manning the quiet desk. She denied that she was directing the RV despite the RV driver saying the complete opposite. Either way, she should not have runaway from the site of an accident without checking that her customers were ok. She expressed absolutely no concern for us whatsoever.

We have since seen many other complaints about this campsite as it's very cramped. The manager herself even said that these kind of accidents happen all the time.

Apart from this experience, the campsite itself is actually a nice KOA set in beautiful surroundings. Just make sure you have your insurance details to hand if you do decide to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank missditsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Parked in our tent site, the manager (Janyel Thompson) guided an RV straight into the back of our hire car. 

She asked us to move after the incident occurred, then promptly left the site. 

We of course moved our ridiculously expensive hire car and got the drivers insurance details but actually had to go find our witness to take hers. As a manager, she should be concerned about all of her customers  and should have hung around until everything was sorted. She went back to the office where there were at least 4 other staff to look after it. 

She is adamant that she wasn't guiding the RV and that they aren't actually allowed to do that but as the driver said, she was guiding him, and  it was herself who asked us to move so that he could get in.

The point is, whether she was guiding him or not, she was a witness to the accident and as a manager should have been more readily available to help.

The campsite itself is nice, good location, great views, lots to do for kids etc, but as our 9th kOA campsite, this is definitely the largest with the smallest spaces for each site, so more care should be taken and more help given to drivers of RV's. The manager herself has said it happens all the time so where was our warning? Why were we not asked to move before we were scraped if the manager was actually there watching the drivers every move?

We are now used to the American standard of service here where the customer is always right but the management here seems to be more concerned with not taking any blame for what was really partly a fault of hers.

Stay here if you want ease as a child friendly campsite but if you want good customer service don't bother.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank charlib206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped here last month on our way home from a trip! Upon pulling into the facility a man in the vehicle behind us became very inpatient and rude! The staff heard him speak inappropriately towards us for no reason! He was potentially intoxicated and extremely belligerent! Despite ignoring him he continued to be a irate towards not only myself but the staff! He then claimed that he would be bringing in a lot of business to them despite this they refused to allow him to stay on the property because of his behavior! It was a very uncomfortable situation but they handled it perfectly! Our stay was wonderful the kids enjoyed all the amenities and our site was easy for us to pull into with a 40 foot motorhome towing a trailer with a Jeep! We plan to stay there again very soon! It is a bit snug getting in and out but with a little RV experience it's absolutely doable!

Room Tip: When making a reservation with a large rig just talk to the staff and they will make sure and get yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Autumn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have stayed at dozens of koa campgrounds and generally find a acceptable level of service.
However the koa flagstaff is an exception. I booked a pull thru rv site with water and power, what I got was a tent site. There was no water on the site. So I was required to run a fifty foot water hose thru the center of the site to connect to water on another site. I thought that the campground had provided the water hose but when I return late in the evening . I found that the hose had been disconected and I was told to buy a fifty foot hose from the camp store.

The site was no wear near level and sloped over a foot from the front to the back of the site and over six inches from side to side.

The wifi service was terrible and would come on and go out every few minutes. It would take over a half an hour just to open a email.

It appears this koa has never heard of the Americans with disabilities act as none of their bath rooms or other facilities are accessible to someone with a disability ( I am mildly disabled).

In short stay somewhere else if you have a rv.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GSmith1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Twin Arrows Navajo Casino Resort
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA

Address: 5803 N US Highway 89, From I-40 Exit 201, 1/2 mile North US 89 to Page, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-2754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Grand Canyon Koa Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing