We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst room in years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This non-smoking room had cigarette butts on the carpet when we entered.

There was HAIR in the bathtub.

The room had a funny odor.

The remote control did not work.

The place was just nasty. Worst stay in a motel in years.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Cecil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avery E, Manager at Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Mr Cecil,
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Super 8. It upsets us here that your room wasn't up to par. Our housekeeping staff was updated on the situation with that room, and instructed to clean the rooms thoroughly, and to make sure to get the details. Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at the Super 8. We hope to one day see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 575 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

The room and all the people were great. The beds were comfortable and we will stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avery E, Manager at Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Mr. Glenn G,
Thank your for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stay away from this place ... bed bugs!! We had to move late in the evening to another hotel. Luckily our money was fully refunded. The person at the front desk said, "I guess I'll have to have the whole place sprayed again!!!"

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel at first it seemed old and outdated but ok. After staying in the room our feet became dirty from the floor. When we fluffed the pillows bed bugs started to come out! We immediately left the room and called the front desk who was in no hurry to come to the room. We were offered another room but declined because if they are in one room they are going to be infested if not yet infested. We left and went to Hilton Garden Inn in our pajamas. If you are trying to have the historic route 66 experience I would recommend Embassy Suites. I spoke with people who stayed there and they were happy with the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

On arriving room stank of either deodorant spray or insect spray. Room dark and dingy and totally unappealing. Carpet filthy. Although there was plastic covering the lampshade. A nice touch I thought. (yeah right). Woke up at midnight to scratching couldn't figure it out till I saw them. Most disgusting stay I have ever encountered. Went to night clerk who did not seem too surprised. Said the motel would refund through expedia (another story). Had to wash all clothes. Their laundry was filthy and wash powder dispenser was out and took money. No powder at front desk had to trudge through streets of Flagstaff looking for powder. Finally got some help from the Howard Johnsons down the road who kindly gave me some. stayed rest of night at reception. Couldn't wait to get out. When we stripped my husbands bed there was blood on the bottom of his sheets and it didn't come from him so we are wondering if the sheets are even changed between guests. Motel seemed to be run by very young adults with no older person around. Young boy between 16 -19 represented himself as manager the next morning. Not a lot of sympathy from that quarter. Breakfast was okay because we were the first ones there having not got any sleep. Took a good week to stop scratching and my husband ended up with ugly weeping welts all over his body. Would never ever go back to a Super 8 or even Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was a nice place but a little difficult to find because it at a very busy intersection and turn lanes to major freeways..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having read the reviews, after our stay, I can't say we experienced any of the troubles other people reported. We received a polite welcome and were allocated a good sized king room which was clean and well equiped with a fridge and coffee. The bathroom was clean with shampoo and a hair dryer. Breakfast was provided consisting of coffee, orange, cerials and toast etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coachman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#23 of 66 in Flagstaff
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#15 of 66 in Flagstaff
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center

Address: 602 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $59 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose our Super 8 West with comfortable accommodations and close proximity to downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University. Located just off Interstates 40 and 17 on historic Route 66, our pet-friendly Super 8 location lets you explore downtown attractions like Heritage Square and local restaurants and brewpubs with ease. Accommodations include Superstart Breakfast, wi-fi and indoor heated pool/jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Flagstaff Downtown Nau Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Super Eight
Flagstaff Super 8
Super Eight Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing