We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ooo la la - Fresh French in Flagstaff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coppa Cafe

Coppa Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Coppa Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 338 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Coppa is a European-style cafe/bistro set amidst the mountains of Flagstaff serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. While northern Arizona might at first seem an unlikely dining destination for serious epicureans, Coppa Cafe's combination of talent and unconventional procurement methods have set the small, casual eatery atop the "can't miss" list of every discerning foodie from Phoenix to Santa Fe. Choosing to go against the grain of the franchise and chain restaurants often found in smaller-town America, husband and wife owners and chefs Brian Konefal and Paola Fioravanti instead favor house-cured meats, ingredients locally procured from nearby farms and ranches and foraged foods found in the forests around Flagstaff to incorporate into their dishes. Though their procurement methods might seem unconventional for the region, their talents are rooted in tradition, following lifelong culinary careers spent crisscrossing Europe and the U.S., Training under the tutelage of some of the finest and most decorated chefs in their respective countries. As Coppa's tagline states, the tiny, intimate venue offers "a taste of Europe in the mountains of Flagstaff," and the culinary team prides itself on providing just that through balancing local finds with progressive techniques, resulting in an unprecedented, sophisticated and pilgrimage-worthy experience.
tempe, arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ooo la la - Fresh French in Flagstaff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Don't be fooled by its location in a strip mall (in Arizona, many fine restaurants are in strip malls). Coppa Cafe is one of the best meals in Flagstaff and is head and shoulders above any place else for pastries and other desserts (try the profiterole with homemade gelato and dark chocolate sauce). The chefs love to use local ingredients and are very creative. Not to be missed if you are a visitor or local.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bsintempe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    26
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
“Flagstaff's 2nd Best Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you are seeking gourmet "European" food in Flagstaff this is the second best restaurant in the city; (Brix is 1st). The food selection is not extensive but everything is prepared from scratch and is fresh that day. The husband and wife chefs are very creative in the various courses available to choose from including the appetizers, soups, salad, entree's and desserts. The prices are somewhat expensive but the quality and tastiness of the food are well worth the price.

If you are a tourist and are looking for an excellent eating experience in Flagstaff, come to the Coppa Cafe. If you are a Flagstaff resident (as my wife and I are) come often and enjoy the city's second best restaurant again and again.

PJL

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJL1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

A recent lunch was very good. I ordered the reuben sandwich which was quite different from the classic reuben in that it was served on ciabatta rather than rye bread. The corned beef was chopped rather than sliced and had a wonderful flavor. I never found any swiss cheese but maybe it was totally melted since the sandwich was served piping hot.

Coppa Café makes gorgeous pastries and desserts. I splurged on a little chocolate cup filled with coconut and guava jam. Yummy!

FYI, lunch (and perhaps breakfast) is ordered at the counter and brought to the table when ready. I assume that dinner is regular table service.

I'm happy to have found this great spot in Flagstaff!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feistygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parks, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Foodie watering hole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Writing this is going to be a novel experience for me, as far as I remember I have never given a good review, I guess I'm more motivated by things to warn people about.

Coppa did everything really well.

I graduated from a french cooking school and could see the care and expertise that went in to the myriad decisions that Brian and Paola made about ingredients, wine list, staff, kitchen etc.

Brian is the co-owner and head chef, Paola is co-owner and pastry chef. They really live food and pay close attention to the minutiae.

We live in Cave Creek and had the opportunity to watch Kevin Binkley grow from local cook to James Beard nominee over years of development.

It is going to happen again with Brian and Paola, visit while is it still inexpensive (for the quality of ingredients).

Don't look for ambiance, Flagstaff is generally lacking that at least in contrast to Scottsdale etc. but if you're a foodie this place will make you smile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RossNeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local, delicious, gourmet, wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Local, fresh fresh! Wonderfully delicious. Lovely interior, eclectic un-matched furniture, vibrant yellow walls. Nice service, felt very personal. I had steak tartare, freshly chopped, well-seasoned, good-sized portion. Then vegetable terrine, very large terrine of baked vegetables, some cheese, good flavor. Leftovers will be good :-) Husband had tomato peach salad, then veal angolotti. Delicious light sauce (brown butter maybe? ) with something creamy on the side and dots of beet gel. Crusty sourdough - ish bread, herb butter. Blueberry tart loaded with fresh berries, side of vanilla gelato, lucious.

Helpful?
Thank jacobsen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coppa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing