We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in Flagstaff and very deserving of the best new restaurant award 2012”
Review of Coppa Cafe

Coppa Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Coppa Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 349 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Coppa is a European-style cafe/bistro set amidst the mountains of Flagstaff serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. While northern Arizona might at first seem an unlikely dining destination for serious epicureans, Coppa Cafe's combination of talent and unconventional procurement methods have set the small, casual eatery atop the "can't miss" list of every discerning foodie from Phoenix to Santa Fe. Choosing to go against the grain of the franchise and chain restaurants often found in smaller-town America, husband and wife owners and chefs Brian Konefal and Paola Fioravanti instead favor house-cured meats, ingredients locally procured from nearby farms and ranches and foraged foods found in the forests around Flagstaff to incorporate into their dishes. Though their procurement methods might seem unconventional for the region, their talents are rooted in tradition, following lifelong culinary careers spent crisscrossing Europe and the U.S., Training under the tutelage of some of the finest and most decorated chefs in their respective countries. As Coppa's tagline states, the tiny, intimate venue offers "a taste of Europe in the mountains of Flagstaff," and the culinary team prides itself on providing just that through balancing local finds with progressive techniques, resulting in an unprecedented, sophisticated and pilgrimage-worthy experience.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
“The best food in Flagstaff and very deserving of the best new restaurant award 2012”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have tried many of their plates and a few of their homemade pastries all of which were amazing. Their Sunday-only brunch menu has become my favorite part of the weekend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D3LPH1C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    27
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cafe with a European Flare!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This cafe was absolutely adorable. We ate here twice, once for brunch and then we went back for gelato. The gelato was to die for!!!! Everything we had here was wonderfully different with the cuties quaint cafe style.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 21travel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery, breakfast, dessert.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The sandwiches were disappointing, but the fresh soup was fabulous. The profiterol, croissant, and breads are great. Skip the Reuben, no matter what you hear it's not a Reuben.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HulaSueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“5++ STAR, Absolutely AMAZING!!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Coppa has raised the bar to heights I didn’t know previously! Their Rueben has to be the best I have ever tasted and its under ten bucks!! I have spoken with a few others and they said the exact same. They serve both lunch and dinner (brunch Sun only), lunch is delicious, dinner fabulous and brunch scrumptious. All are affordable, you get what you pay for (fresh, quality made with passion), dinner is more than lunch and brunch of course. It’s also quit a portion, as much as I would love seconds there is no need here! Overall Coppa provides the most bang for your buck and the best food I have ever had. On one occasion we were hesitant to try their soup, sounded kind of basic this particular day, how wrong we were! It had far from basic taste, just writing this brings my mouth watering; we even ended up ordering some to go.
At dinner one of the things I enjoyed most besides my meal, was watching people’s reactions to their food being served and trying it- everyone seemed very pleased and excited. Many pictures have surely been taken of the food here. We tried the tarte flambé, was an amazing appetizer and the lamb pot, my what a treat you’re in for and for those with normal appetites you'll have some left for later. Then there’s the steak w frites, awesome, nice big piece of lean beef cooked to absolute perfection, tender and juicy, yet not running w too much red. Better than all the steak houses I've tried and being that I'm from AZ I've tried many. The frites were cooked perfectly, best I've ever had, crispy yet soft in middle, served with house made aioli and/or ketchup a definite hit.
But wait, there's more! The display case with daily lunch items alongside amazing desserts including very limited fruit tarts made daily. Strawberry macaroons, I had a hard time justifying the price but once I tried one I realized what a special treat they are and as it turns out they are very hard to make, these are the best around. Rumor has it, these are even better than most all in France where they originate!!
I bring any one visiting here and love their reactions, one friend said it felt like he was on some ‘amazing foodsTV show or some exquisite local spot in Europe’ and just went off on how great it was. You will leave feeling like a million buck$, ENJOY!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Agree with all the other 5 star reviews on this page-- this is such a gem! Read the bios about the chefs and you will really appreciate the experience they bring. Friendly and attentive service too. We shared a salad with a robust dijon dressing, the best ever cauliflower soup with dollops of turmeric oil, and a superb wild boar pasta ragout--extra special was that the sauce was sweetened with bits of carrots and beets. Finished the meal with homemade gelato-- hazelnut, salted caramel, vanilla and chocolate, and complimentary homemade marshmallows. The bakery case holds rows of impressive homemade pastries and macaroons, as well as homemade caramels. We were just passing through Flagstaff during a cross country road trip, but we will surely return again next year!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coppa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing