We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice breakfast on Sunday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altitudes Bar & Grill

Altitudes Bar & Grill
Ranked #118 of 338 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Altitudes Bar and Grill is your locally owned and operated hang out with great ambiance, unforgettable food and a terrific staff that makes you want to come back time and time again. And you will once you've tried our signature burgers and salads, homemade soups and chili. Plan to join us for freshly squeezed drinks and live music on the patio in the warmer months, where you'll see all your friends while enjoying the amazing view of the San Francisco Peaks and the train as it passes through Flagstaff's downtown region (don't forget to order one of our famous train shots!). Check us out and bring your friends, you'll be glad you did.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
677 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“A nice breakfast on Sunday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Altitudes Bar is very sporty decorated. But on a nice Sunday we had Breakfast outside. Here you feel like a train-spotter - such a lot of freight trains pass.

We had Quesadillas and freshly pressed orange juice. A very good start for a nice Sunday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faber689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    60
    20
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
942 reviews
481 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Good food inside; nice outside in summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

A busy place, but we had a solid supper. Great location just south of the tracks, and they consistently have great entertainment, both inside and out. It's worth the atmosphere to have a drink or food while listening to great local talent. Casual. Reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently visited Flagstaff and after a morning at the Grand Canyon we came back for a late lunch at Altitude. Great menu, nice patio overlooking train station and downtown. The food was great and the train shots are always fun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyg483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
277 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Weird inconsistent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

on our way back from hiking rim to rim at Grand Canyon stopped in because we'd had good experience on a previous visit. Food is good here. Drink inconsistency is our item of contention. They advertise a bloody mary and mimosa bar on the dry eraser board as you walk in on weekends. At first I would assume maybe it refers to all you can drink, kind of like a champaign brunch with mimosas included. Not the case as I found out which was ok by the way. Anyway the waitress brings over the first champaign served in a small white wine glass, holding maybe 3 maybe 4 oz tops. She informs her to help herself to the juice bar selection inside and leaves. My wife looks at me and the glass but decides to roll with it. Ordering a second mimosa, I asked waitress if we were to be charged for it. It was yes, we rolled with it. Receiving the new glass, it has maybe 5 oz, above mid-way now. So I asked waitress about inconsistency, and immediately states she'll get a manager. Five minutes or so a guy comes over introduces himself as mgr and asks the issue. Tell him story.... he states the second glass is over filled because it was last of bottle and he was "being nice" emptying it in the glass compared to the first glass. He said ours was first complaint all day and that he loses money on the juice anyway as they fresh squeeze them.....and have I "seen the cost of fruit lately????" My wife agreed to have a bit more added to her glass and we left it go. wow. don't know if we'll go back , it was strange. I write this from a background of many years bartending in just happenin' fun joints up to and including 5 star resorts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank izymassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food, cold beer in a quiet, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

After a day of hiking the Grand Canyon, there's nothing better than a cold beer and that's what you get at Altitudes. Service was outstanding; we were approached quickly - by the manager since her servers were busy - and were checked back on regularly. Prices were great - think we happened on happy hour ($3 drafts) and the beer selection was good (can't go wrong with a Fat Tire).

Our burgers were probably the best we've had in a long time. They were cooked to order (which you'd think would be a 'no brainer', but doesn't happen often enough) and were on some Monday special (the entire meal was very reasonable, but never tasted or felt cheap).

The atmosphere is very relaxed, just what we were looking for. We don't like smoking - and if you don't, then don't sit by the door (as smokers are on the patio). But moving was no problem with them. We interacted with 4 of their folks and everyone seemed to genuinely be glad they were there and helping you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altitudes Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Altitudes Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing