We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the best BBQ in Flagstaff”
Review of Satchmo's BBQ

Satchmo's BBQ
Ranked #5 of 345 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A funky little joint, that cooks with love. Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork, Jambalaya, Gumbo, Poboys and Veggie options just to name a few! A killer selection of local and regional craft brews. We understand it may not taste just like your Grandma's Gumbo or just like Pop's BBQ. But what we do understand is cook'n with love, just like Grandma and Pop's did. Good for your soul food!
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best BBQ in Flagstaff”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've tried all of the BBQ places in Flagstaff and can attest that Satchmo's undoubtedly is the best BBQ joint you'll find in Flagstaff. They serve all of your favorite smoked meats and Cajun sides like gumbo and more. These guys focus on the food FIRST and I really appreciate that. When the weather is nice they also have a private dining area outside which is inviting. They also have a good selection of beer to choose from (a staple for eating good BBQ). Brings back fond memories of NOLA. No hype, just good BBQ.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    125
    27
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Axton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

e decided to try this placed based on other reviews from Trip Advisor. we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful in describing some of the menu items (we have not had much experience with Cajun style food). I had the Gumbo and my wife tried the Jambalaya and they were both very good. the Cajun cole slaw was some of the best that I have ever had. They also had a nice selection of locally brewed beer and the waiter allowed me to try a few samples before had. Would definitely suggest trying Satchmo's if you are staying in Flagstaff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goreds43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great bbq”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Trip advisor helped us find this place. Bbq pork sandwiches, potato salad, cole slaw were all delicious. Friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California, United States
1 review
“So so so good....”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Food was awesome, very friendly staff and good prices. We will definitely be back next time we are in Flagstaff.......

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate there on 09/09/13 for lunch. I had the BBQ pork sandwich, coleslaw and red beans and rice. Wife had the veggie burger on it's own. Sandwich was approx 4' in dia served open faced, with pulled pork piled on the bottom bun. Sauce is at table side and you apply as much as you want. Pork was average, but the sauce was tasty, which makes the sandwich worth a try. Coleslaw was very good; not the typical creamy style, but made with a vinegrette dressing. Red beans and rice come in a small plastic container (approx 1/4 cup), with the beans atop the rice. This was so-so. Beans appeared to be refried beans on top of the rice. I give it a 4. Wife said that her veggie burger was average.

This location is out of the way and a little hard to find, located behind a gas station in a small strip mall. Staff was friendly and helpful, asking if we had been there before. When we said "no", staff proceeded to explain the menu and how to order (its a walk -up counter).

There's lots of items on the menu, so we'll try it again to see if there's something that really jumps out at us. But with so many interesting places to eat in Flagstaff, it might be a while before we get back here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyboy187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Satchmo's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing