We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smokin'”
Review of Satchmo's BBQ

Satchmo's BBQ
Ranked #4 of 345 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A funky little joint, that cooks with love. Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork, Jambalaya, Gumbo, Poboys and Veggie options just to name a few! A killer selection of local and regional craft brews. We understand it may not taste just like your Grandma's Gumbo or just like Pop's BBQ. But what we do understand is cook'n with love, just like Grandma and Pop's did. Good for your soul food!
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smokin'”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Fantastic little place. The ribs very delicious and salad tasty. You'll get great food served by people who are passionate about their food. Thanks for the bbq tips Jamie!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    125
    27
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Cajun food with a nice twist. Red beans n rice were quite spicy and the po boys were excellent. The sweet potato fries were very good. Beer was interesting. Didn't care too much for the bread pudding because It tasted like fried French toast and had too much orange taste. I like my bread pudding soft and creamy. Although it lacked curb appeal it was very homey and inviting inside. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“best ribs in flagstaff, if not the whole of USA”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I cant say I have eaten at all the BBQ restaurants in US, but I can stay of the many I have visited in and around the west coast of US, and having thought others were good once, Satchmo's BBQ has topped all of them and is now ranked #1 in my book.
The meat was succulent, tender and juicy all the way to the last bite.
It's abit hard to find, being located off the main road, behind a servo. But, it's well worth the efforts to seek this place out and be rewarded.....
I shall return....this summer....yum....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellernot2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was delicious!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This restaurant takes cajun food and puts a different spin on it. It has great BBQ and cajun cooking. The food was great with delicious smoked meats, red beans and rice, jambalaya, and BBQ sauces! The chef Jamie came out to our table to check on us and also gave us great information about the place. Staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are in the area, you must stop by!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint David, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and beer”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good blues and jazz on the house music. Great ribs and the sweet potato fries were light and fluffy. The cole slaw wasn't a mayonaise type, I think it was made with vinegar. Very refreshing. They had a number of beers I had never heard of and they all were good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Labrat85630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Satchmo's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing