We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing through” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Hills Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Western Hills Motel
Save
You added Western Hills Motel to your Saves list
1580 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Passing through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Dog friendly!!! We are traveling with our dog so we are limited on where we can stay, which is unfortunate. We also, whenever possible, stay at one of a kind, boutique lodging. So as you an see, difficult.
Many of the "poor" reviews are not accurate. I think it's due to too high of expectations. If you want to be "attended to" or have the most modern updates of the time, this is not the place. To not misunderstand, the owners are very sweet and personable and keep the rooms clean and orderly.
I gave 3 stars instead of 4 because there are some things I felt need to be updated to remain a nostalgic slice of history, especially with all the competitive chain lodging choices. Specifically referring to light fixtures, wall repairs/painting and window replacements.
Our stay was exactly what I was expecting arriving late in the evening and leaving early in the morning.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissankym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We ended up in the Western Hills Motel in desperation after finding the prices in the centre of Flagstaff to be totally ridiculous (the most expensive on the entirety of our Route 66 trip). Even so, despite being the worst place we stayed, Western Hills still wasn't cheap. We asked for a non smoking room and were given what the manager said was one, although it reeked of stale tobacco and the stains on the walls showed that clearly it wasn't smoke free. I suppose the best part of the room in many ways was the surety that we couldn't be sealed inside as there was no working lock. It was set in a dodgy area and we resorted to piling bags against the door to block out the people stood in the car park having a 'party' although there was an ominous lack of drinks or music and they looked like they were on their way to a clan meet. The sink in the bathroom poured water all over the floor out of a loose pipe every time you used it and the shower was dreadful. We didn't take the manager up on the offer of the $3 Greek breakfast option as we didn't wish to imitate the bathroom sink and be spewing anonymous fluid out all over the floor ourselves. Heed my warnings and sleep in your cars.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimnjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times, when we couldn't get home because of the snow. We love it !! is very cozy and conferrable. The customer service is amazing !! the rooms are nice and clean never had a problem. out of all the times we have stayed here we have not miss sleep do to the train. this motel is a historic place, it has been here for many years and yet it is still well taken care of, like I said before the rooms are nice and clean. the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had just stayed in Vegas and were heading to Sedona but was getting late do decided to stop off in Flagstaff - nothing else was available so stopped here. The only good thing about this place was the price 55 dollars for a double. The room was basic and tired. I had to have several drinks to take mind off the grimness of it. We moved on early next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolster0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We like to travel off the beaten path, avoiding chain restaurants and hotels when we travel. Vintage Route 66 hotel with a cool neon sign? I couldn't resist! I should have tried harder. The room was sorta clean - floors 'n beds okay but lots of dead bugs around the windows. Ever used one of those airline pillows? These were only slightly larger. We asked the front desk for more pillows but they had no extra. The shower in the bathroom was old which was kinda cool but the door wouldn't shut and it leaked water on the floor. The bathroom window wouldn't close enough to lock safely, its frame warped by age and painted multiple times. The room had ONE power outlet and has way too many things plugged into it. The guy at the front desk was friendly, recommended some nice places to eat, but was there only half the time. Overall the place was cheap, definitely interesting, but I don't think we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jencat369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My roommate and I stayed here for three weeks while our apartment was being renovated and we were both very pleased with our stay. The staff is excellent. All of them are very friendly and helpful. There is an amazing restaurant in the same parking lot that serves good cheap breakfast and the best gyros I've ever had. Overall, it was a great temporary home while waiting for our apartment. I would definitely recommend Western Hills and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here on out drive to Las Vegas and its a good stay and close to the downtown area. Shopping was nice found interesting things at the local shops. Small but clean rooms and nice staff. Next time we are in town we will stay there again. Low rate and nice people.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
3.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Hills Motel

Address: 1580 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic motel with a Western theme right on Route 66. We offer clean rooms and friendly service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#