We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Greek Grill

Taverna Greek Grill
Ranked #29 of 338 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
360 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Had a great time here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was recommended by the hotel when we spent a night in Flagstaff and we couldn't thank them enough for it - had a great time!

The bartender - Shandor - was great. We just sat up by the bar and had some drinks and appetizers. He really knew his stuff & was a really nice guy. Being a Monday, it was buy one, get one free cocktails, so the price was VERY reasonable.

We had a couple appetizers (the Carnivore flat bread and the Dolmades) and will have to say that the food was quite tasty. Also, very nice decor and atmosphere. If I lived in the area, I would definitely be a regular here.

If I'm back in the area, will definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    132
    48
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
695 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Much better than my last visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Went with the wife and kids this weekend to grab lunch and get some gyros. Last time we had been here was 8-10 months ago as it wasn't a great experience last time with the service or the food. I will definitely say that this trip was a big improvement. The service was much better and the food was definitely much better. Our gyros were good, greek salad fresh, and the kids love their mac & cheese. We also tried the loaded fries from the happy hour menu and they were wonderful (and evil all at once - do not order them if you have any self-control issues as I wanted to eat the whole plate). We had a coupon given out locally, so our value was better than just walking in. It will not take us 8 months to come back again after this visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Greek Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Large portions of Greek and other casual eating fare. Service is friendly and prompt. A little hard to find for a tourist. It is located inside a shopping area off the main streets of this area. Be persistent and you will be glad you are eating here and not at the many chain restaurants that are nearby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

My extended family and I went to an early weekend dinner. The service was very good, but our table was not level so every time my kids would color the table would shift back and forth. Great food and atmosphere, the cheese and three dip appetizers were very good. The humus was the best I have had in a while. We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Flaming Cheese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My sis-in-law had been here before so she was wise to the cheese surprise-have to order this at least once for the show. The food was excellent and prices reasonable. Great place to accommodate a large group. Very friendly wait staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank copejenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Greek Grill also viewed

 
Flagstaff, AZ
Flagstaff, AZ
 

Been to Taverna Greek Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing