We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here - both good expereinces”

Taverna Greek Grill
Ranked #35 of 348 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cave Creek, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Second time here - both good expereinces”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We really liked this Greek themed restaurant/sports bar. Went later on a Friday night and ordered chicken sandwiches. My husband got the one with gyro meat and bacon (although his came with no bacon on it but we were too hungry to complain), and I got the standard chicken and Swiss. Both were tasty and cooked well, and it was nice to have the option of a side Greek salad as opposed to fries for no up charge. The bread and dipping oil they brought out were very garlicky, which was fine by us, we love garlic, but may be overpowering for some. Decent selection of beers, OK wine although my Malbec was served a bit on the warm side. What was weird was that they started shutting down the dining room around us while we sipped our drinks after dinner, but the bar was still hopping. Overall a decent experience and we would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatnJenCaveCreek_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    145
    52
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bland and undercooked food. Skip it!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I love Greek food. I love the seasonings and lots of garlic. The first indication of a problem at this restaurant were the calamari we ordered for an appetizer. The batter was extremely bland, unsalted and mushy. No amount of table salt or lemon squeezing added to the calamari could save it. I ordered lamb souvlaki for my entree and was extremely disappointed. I ordered my lamb cooked medium, but it arrived almost raw. Worst of all there was no seasoning to mention and the meat was very tough to chew due to the undercooking. It came with rice, also bland and uninteresting. The lamb burger and house burgers ordered by companions were also very raw after being ordered medium. Our server was sympathetic and friendly, but the food was the worst I've ever had in a Greek restaurant at home or abroad. The restaurant prices are extremely high and the noise level around our table made it almost impossible to communicate. Skip this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, over attentive server! (and not in a good way)”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

You'll always get a great meal here, good variety for all ages. Pitas are especially good, salads too. Our server was at our table easily every few minutes. He came 5 times before we ordered and we didn't take long at all for 4 people! He offered us to-go boxes before we were even half way through our meal! So irritating. As he brought our check he asked if we wanted dessert! We had cocktails, an appetizer and dinner for 4 and were out of there in exactly an hour. He just wanted to turn our table on a Friday night. I still love this place but next time I'd assert myself and let a server know we would not be rushed. We did want to move on to the downtown area so we just moved along.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank silvisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“WAS our favorite!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This WAS our favorite place and we stopped when ever we were in Flagstaff. We've lost count as to how many times, always ordering the dolmades and baklava. Too bad they changed their menu and removed the dolmades. It was hard to find meat dolmades even in Greek places, now it is even more difficult. They also changed the recipe for their baklava. It used to be quite flakey and lots of sugar/cinnamon. Now it takes like everybody else's baklava with lots of honey making it tough to cut even with a knife. Maybe it was just old. We ordered their spinach/feta turnover and shared a flatbread. Nothing special here, we will try to find another place in Flagstaff to call our favorite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice casual experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Near our hotel so we stopped in a couple of times for the Happy Hour specials. Large, inviting, friendly and popular. We chose bar seating, which was where the servers were concentrating. The short Happy Hour appetizer menu is interesting. Most of the appetizers had a Greek theme, but there was something for everyone. We like Greek food and enjoyed the Mini-Pitas and the Greek sliders, along with a couple of glasses of crisp white wine. A nice casual experience. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrkessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Greek Grill also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Greek Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing