We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”

MartAnne's Burrito Palace
Ranked #6 of 347 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
kingman, az
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We were there for breakfast on our way home from a long road trip. I ordered a Pork Green Chili Rancheros & hubby ordered a breakfast burrito. OMG the portions are huge & e erything was good. Food is taking awhile coming but it was worth the wait. Hubby burrito was the size of small infant & with it was crispy hash browns, rice & beans. The burrito itself was make with 3 eggs mixed with bits & pieces of sausage. My breakfast was equally huge, 2 medium cooked eggs on corn tortilla smothered with pork chili verde plus chunk of cooked pork, cheeses & you guess it hash browns & rice. The more I stuck my fork down into my plate more good things came up with it. The whole plate is a one big cornucopia. Price is right. The place is decorated with funky decor. We would do it again next time we found ourselves in Flagstaff. It's cash only place. No, they do not have styrofoam box for leftover. Although, there's paper plate & tin foil to take your leftover home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mooyai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    149
    40
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A MUST go to!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was told by a local that this was the place to go. Their breakfast was delicious. Trust me, go there and you won't regret it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lmiller3821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“southwestern-style comfort food in a colorful, buzzing locale”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I don't live in flagstaff anymore, but come there to visit family and friends, multiple times per year. I always try to have a breakfast at martanne's. although I miss the tiny space they occupied on San Francisco St., their new space makes sense for the volume of business they do. the food took a while, but was well worth it, and they kept the coffee flowing while we waited. definitely recommend this breakfast joint if you're on rt 66 downtown flagstaff, az!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acmeguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Don't go unless you're prepared to wait all afternoon for your lunch”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is not a restaurant; this is one person sequentially cooking food for people at ~20 tables. The first bad sign was having to wait 15 minutes with no one acknowledging our presence. After insisting that someone take our order we waited for another 30 minutes until I inquired if lunch would be served sometime during the afternoon. I was told that our order would be another 20-25 minutes at which time we decided to leave. While I was speaking with one of the servers about the whereabouts of our meal, the cook was shouting at me about the fact that each meal is prepared individually and that's why it takes time. That's fine; if the intent of the restaurant is to "serve no food before its time" then I suggest they have signboard as you enter similar to those you find in amusement parks that says something like "your current wait time is XX hours." That way people won't bother to come in unless they have the time to wait! I surely won't bother.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank docj9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You have to go!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Went there with the family for an early breakfast, got there just before they got too busy. They have very good food and have huge portions. The food has a southwest flair comes with beans and rice. I got the ham omlet with green chili so so good. This place gets packed so be prepared to wait or just get there early. The place is for sure a Flagstaff establishment and it is where the locals go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MartAnne's Burrito Palace also viewed

 

Been to MartAnne's Burrito Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing