We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antelope Canyon Page AZ via Grand Canyon Old West Jeep Tours”
Review of Grand Canyon Store - CLOSED

Grand Canyon Store
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Tour Planning and Information center. We have daily tours that will show you Grand Canyon Top to Bottom and surrounding area attractions! We also have a Retail Store with Grand Canyon and Route 66 gifts and apparel.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Antelope Canyon Page AZ via Grand Canyon Old West Jeep Tours”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were staying in Flagstaff AZ. Resort had a presentation of the local activities. Grand Canyon Jeep Tours had a trip up to Page AZ to see the Antelope Canyon on the Navajo Indian Reservation. A nice shuttle picked us up at the resort and then over to Flagstaff Tour office where we met up with others going on two different trips in the same area. A larger shuttle bus with the BEST Driver/Tour Guide named Allen drove us up to Page AZ and had a never ending tale of History and Points of Interests along the way. Made it to Antelope Canyon, no problem checking in with the Indians, went ahead of others standing in line and Allen remained our Guide in to the canyon, again with countless must sees and observations. We were not rushed, took breaks, helped by Allen when needed. Allen even helped us set our camera settings to make sure we got the Best Pictures with the available lighting in the deep narrow canyon. Once out of the canyon we made our way to the Lake Powell Marina for a Huge Sandwich lunch and then the group broke up into Rafters and Boaters. We the Boaters, took a boat out onto Lake Powell and down one of the deep canyons to see more colors and back country and then to a beach for some Swimming. The Rafters were taken to a place to be loaded into rafts located on the smooth running waters of the Colorado River to float down to the Lees Ferry area of AZ. After we swam we went back to the marina where Allen picked us Boaters up and then drove to the Ferry area to pick up the Rafters. Allen determined that we had extra time so during the drive to pick up the Boaters we had time to stop at the Navajo Bridge over the Colorado River and also a stop to see the Balancing Rocks near Lees Ferry AZ along with a closer look of the Colorado River. The Rafters made it in time, we loaded up the shuttle and listen to Indian music all the way back to Flagstaff. This is an All day event that you should allow someone else to drive, and if you have a choice make it Allen from the Grand Canyon Old West Jeep Tours, you will not be disappointed. 7/2012

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    5
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Marino, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime-Antelope Slot Canyon”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

It is hard to know what to expect when you sign up for a group tour. My family and I can honestly say that this was a worthwhile experience. Allen, our tour guide was enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable. As an added bonus, he is a professional photographer and generously offered valuable tips as we photographed the breathtaking Canyon.
The tour was well organized and never did we feel like we were being shuttled around like cattle to one tourist trap after another.
From Tusayon it is about an hour out to Cameron, where the bus picks you up and about another 90 minutes to the Slot Canyon, but the time passes quickly as Allen points out many interesting sights of the Navajo Nation along the way.
We spent about an hour in the Slot Canyon (which is plenty of time to take 1000 pictures), then we were taken to a floating marina a served a decent box lunch. The Marina had a great shop and extremely clean facilities as well. Our family did not participate in the raft ride, but went on a 90 minute Lake Powell cruise, which was very pleasant. Our boat was shaded and comfortable. We had a different guide, who took us to Antelope Canyon and then to a beach where we could hike and swim for about 30 minutes. If you have really young children I highly recommend taking this option.
Overall, I highly recommend taking this tour. Request Allen if possible.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3Canons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great FREE shuttle service”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Staying at the Wyndham resort we were informed of a FREE shuttle service offered by this company from the resort to their store located in the historical part of downtown Flagstaff. Wanting to try out some of the different breweries downtwn we thought this was a great idea to keep from drinking and driving. We called and they sent the 16 passenger van right away. We had no trouble getting our group of 13 in the van with three of them in car seats, plus a car seat. Once at the store we listened to a very quick overview of the tours they offer with no pressure to try them out. We were given a map of downtown with some flyers and discount coupons to some businesses. They even held onto the car seats in the back so we wouldn't have to carry them around downtown. Our large group went back to the resort in two groups and they had no trouble with running the shuttle twice and the shuttle was ready when we were. If you don't want the hassle of trying to find parking downtown I recommended giving this shuttle service a try. I have no idea on the tours though.

Helpful?
Thank CriscoPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family of 10 decided to take this tour for the convenience it seemed to offer. We had 3 vehicles among us and so it seemed easier to all ride together. The cost was pricey but we thought it was going to be worth it. We drove about 2 hours to get to the Grand Canyon. We had 3 extra passengers who we had to drop off at the airport for their helicopter ride and then the driver had to waste time so we could go back and pick them up. Our lunch, which was included, turned out to be a cheap fast food lunch at the theater. We finally made it in to the Grand Canyon and got to spend about 45 minutes at the first stop. We drove on to the second stop which included the hiking trail and shops and were only allowed to stay there about and hour. Then we loaded back up and drove back to Flagstaff, which was another 2 hours. SO ALL IN ALL WE SPENT ABOUT 4 HOURS IN THE BUS AND LESS THAN 2 HOURS AT THE GRAND CANYON. FOR A WHOLE LOT OF MONEY! This tour was such a huge disappontment to my whole family.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Tami Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon Jeep Tours”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were excited about taking this jeep tour down to the bottom of the Grand Canyon. We allocated the largest portion of our attraction budget on this tour and a full day. It cost more than our airfare. After the tour, we regretted spending the money and the whole day on this tour.

We spent 5 hours riding on a bus to get from Flagstaff to Peach Springs (the Jeep launching point) and back. The Jeep driver was very personable and knowledgeable. However, the Jeep broke down on our way back from the bottom. It was extremely hot and we had to wait for one of the other Jeeps to drop off their passengers and then return to rescue us. The passenger seat on the rescue Jeep was broken and the driver struggled to get it to move forward enough for us to enter and exit the Jeep.

Given the mechanical problems with two jeeps, one could question the maintenance program for the Jeeps. It makes you wonder if Jeep maintenance is a priority with this company. When we returned to Flagstaff, I asked to speak with a manager about the problem. They said he was gone but they would give him a message to call me. After repeated calls to the main office and three days later the owner called.

I explained the problem and he said sometimes things happen. I explained that we budgeted more on this Jeep ride than our airfare and we rode on two jeeps in disrepair. I expected him to refund a portion of the price as a gesture of good faith. He reacted with anger, raised his voice and was very rude. He refused to refund one cent. Given how much we paid them, I was shocked at how he treated me.

There are so many attractions near the Grand Canyon and Sedona. There is no reason to waste your money and a whole day on this Jeep tour. Spend it on the others.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank SassyDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Store also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing