We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip with the Grand Canyon Jeep Tours”
Review of Grand Canyon Store - CLOSED

Grand Canyon Store
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Tour Planning and Information center. We have daily tours that will show you Grand Canyon Top to Bottom and surrounding area attractions! We also have a Retail Store with Grand Canyon and Route 66 gifts and apparel.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Buena Park, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Trip with the Grand Canyon Jeep Tours”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My family of three was on that same tour with the family of four that day.We were in the jeep in front.All said and well we throughly enjoyed the entire tour.Our guide Scott was very informative,pointing out wildlife,rock formations,yes some were given names by the tour guides,no problems.We also liked hearing about the geology of the Canyon and the history of the various people who hid out there from the law,and the Native Americans that roamed there,the hanging tree that the law used to hang criminals back when,the man who built the hotel done in the area that was washed out during a flood,the Mormoms that also tried to settle there.All fun and well.Our guide took his time and talked alot on the way down.On his way back he didn't talk much but I assumed like the rest of us he was tired and had already pointed out most of what he needed too.
Dust is part of a jeep tour,so is hair blowing(which happened) no problems we so enyoed this tour and have already told others.One thing guys the bread used for our sandwiches was a tad stale.We so enjoyed our tour.Thank-you so much !

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank 1SmButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    5
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Scenery / Unprofessional Tour Guide”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We paid over $1000 for our family to take a jeep tour to see the Colorado river on the floor of the Grand Canyon. For that type of money we expected a professional tour with a professional guide. Most of the company representatives were pleasant and professional. Our guide was not. It was kind of like being asked to ride along on an all male hunting trip. The guide cracked a number of jokes of a sexual nature... not appropriate period... less so with two young girls (9 and 12) along. He made no attempt to be "in character". Just said whatever was on his mind. The guide had clearly been into the canyon numerous times but was not at all an expert on the history, plant life, geology, etc. He pointed out several rock formations that he had named... got old after awhile. On the way back up from the canyon he insisted on getting close to the jeep in front of us resulting in a needlessly dusty and unpleasant ride for our family. All of that said, the scenery was fantastic and this is the only tour company that makes this trip. Ask for Scott or Robert and you'll be fine.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank nhsoxfan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Give this company a pass - try Pink Jeeps.”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We took Grand Canyon Jeeps' Ultimate Grand Canyon Tour. We were told we needn't take the helicopter portion of the tour if we didn't want to and they would take us on an alternative side trip instead. We were told we would be picked up at 9:45 and not return until 6ish and that we would go places we couldn't get to without a guide. We were ready at 9:45 and after having the concierge call three times (each time they said they were on the way and would be there any moment) we were finally picked up at 11:30. We were surprised that the vehicle was not a jeep but an 11 passenger van, and the guide just laughed when we said we thought we'd be in a jeep. On entering the vehicle, which was empty, we were told that all the seats up front were "reserved" and we had to sit in the back of the empty bus. Eventually when the guide started talking, it was virtually impossible to make out what he was saying and he did not even raise his voice when we told him we couldn't hear. Our first stop was the airfield, where we sat for over 30 minutes waiting for the other members of the tour to return from their helicopter ride. Despite a running commentary on the rising price of gas, the guide left the engine running the whole time. We were then taken to the IMAX theatre for lunch, where my spouse got food poisoning and we watched a dated movie. At none of the stops did the guide attempt to make sure the group left at the same time and we were consequently quite late leaving one place as we all waited for the last of the group to return to the van. The guide made no attempt to to find the missing guest and again just sat in the van with the engine running. We saw nothing we couldn't have done on our own and certainly didn't learn anything from our "knowledgeable" guide. My spouse actually suggested we should stop payment as the tour was so disappointing.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank imothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, PA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tour to Skywalk, West Rim Grand Canyon”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

This sounded like a good trip. Grand Canyon Jeep Tours would pick us up at our hotel in Tusayan, Az, drive all the way to the West Rim, tour the area including the Skywalk, lunch and return us to our hotel. The trip was to last 11-12 hours. We were picked up at 5:00AM and taken to Williams (main office of the company) where we waited and informed we would be combined with people doing a rafting trip, no problem. While we were driving our coach driver asked if we knew we would have a long wait at the West Rim, we had not be told anything. She informed us that we would need to wait for those taking the rafting trip and it could be as late as 5:30 in the evening, and there was the five hour drive back. We were not happy. I must say both of our drivers were wonderful. They knew the area, history, answered questions, and were very friendly. The Skywalk was fun, the views were great but the whole thing could have been done in 3 hours or less. We were there for 6 hours in the heat. Now there are 14 miles of unpaved road on the way in so taking your own car could be a problem, but this tour was WAY over priced. It also ending up being a 15 1/2 hour day. We would not recommend this trip by the Grand Canyon Jeep Tours unless they made some changes and were up front on the length.

Helpful?
6 Thank clmahaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la, ca
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I would pass on this”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We took the inner sunset tour and it was a very uncomfortable trip. The winds were 75 mph and 38 deg. outside. They have you in an open jeep for a good 30 minutes on freeway before you get there. I have never been so uncomfortable or so cold. The trip was informative about the different plants and animal life. We saw 2 burro and that was the extent of the animal life we saw. The tour also changed the food options once we got there. We paid $500 and you should get what you ask for. It also claimed to be a "sunset" tour, yet you have to turn all the way around in the jeep which was very uncomfortable to see it. Even then, you still didn' t see the sunset. It was very uncomfortable and not worth the $. It is very different from the top. The top is 100 times better!

Helpful?
5 Thank spaige12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Store also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing