We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast at Charly's”

Charly's Pub & Grill
Ranked #59 of 347 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Charly's”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stopped in Flagstaff after the Grand Canyon. A tour guide in the visitor's center recommended Charly's for breakfast and we were pleased. The breakfast menu was varied and a very comfortable ambience. The food was good as was the coffee. The service was slower than expected as there are only a few customers in the morning. They have entertainment in the evening but we were on our way home by then.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rho W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    92
    24
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Attentive staff”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Pet friendly on the patio, staff cannot be beat. Nice menu and drinks. Have been here both trips to Flagstaff, will return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaKml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Service - Average Food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Located in the historic Hotel Weatherford in downtown Flagstaff, Charly’s has a menu featuring some creative Southwestern meals in addition to the burgers, sandwiches and entrees “Off The Grill.’ The restaurant is nicely decorated and provides a comfortable environment. The wait staff was superb, attentive and knowledgeable.

However, if only the food approached the quality of the menu descriptions…there was a reasonable relationship between the menu and what was served but the meals were bland, uninspired and terribly average at best. I won’t dwell on specifics but we were disappointed.

Given the plethora of good restaurants in downtown Flagstaff, I would consider another alternative for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HikingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options and pie, too!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Flagstaff seems to be a meat and potatoes town, so finding great vegetarian choices has been problematic. So I was delighted to find Charly's.

I highly, highly recommend the portobello mushroom sandwich. It is one of the best sandwiches I have ever had and portions are enormous. I took half the sandwich to go.

I ended up at Charly's the last time I was in Flagstaff because I needed a piece of pie and Charly's owner makes them herself! I've had both peach and blackberry pies there and enjoyed them (the crust was tougher than my own homemade pies, but the filings were wonderful).

Re service, my first visit to Charly's was in July of 2013 and the server was excellent. My second visit in December wasn't so great. The server seemed terribly inexperienced. The servers need to be as good as the food!

Finally, the interior is quite charming - warm and cozy - with lots of light and very little noise so you can actually talk to the person across the table from you.

Highly recommended!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Footloosewomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great American food”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

On the ground floor of a renovated 'traditional' Arizona hotel: good atmosphere, great American food in great American portions (we shared very happily) - and cheerful, friendly service. Good value

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charly's Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Charly's Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing