We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb dining experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tinderbox Kitchen

Tinderbox Kitchen
Ranked #32 of 338 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tinderbox Kitchen is "American Comfort Food Redefined", located on the Southside of Historic Downtown Flagstaff, Arizona. We offer a fine dining experience in an unpretentious, courteous and lively atmosphere. With an often-changing menu, you can always find your old favorite meal twisted to showcase the season's freshest offerings. We offer a full bar and wine selection as well.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A superb dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We found Tinderbox based on other Trip Advisor's reviews and wee delighted with the menu selections, the level of service and the ambiance. The employees are customer service oriented the food was well prepared and delicious. Everything about this restaurant appealed to us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jande36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    55
    24
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fun venue for adult meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a nice open, easy to find, upscale restaurant. We were dressed casually (road trip) as were most of the others in the place. Things were not too busy at 8pm on a Sunday night. Our group of 6 shared the pot belly and chile cream apps - both very tasty and enough for everyone to have a bite. 3 in our party ordered the scallops - the consensus favorite. 2 had the venison - I thought it was too salty, but the decoration was great. Our jowl eater was very satisfied. We split 3 desserts: their creative french toast, cheesecake and choc cake - all very good and suited different peoples' palates.
Tinderbox is a little pricier than I prefer. For the sting of that check, would probably not go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is one of the best meals I've ever had..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Driving from New Mexico to CA & we decided to stop in Flagstaff. Based on reviews on this website we decided on Tinderbox Restaurant for our dinner stop. What a great find! Everything from the servers to the food was amazing. Our waitperson was incredibly accommodating & attentive. The food was sublime! Seriously...a butternut squash soup that was topped with a pesto, out of this world delicious. I had a pork steak topped with apples & brussel sprouts that was one of the best things I've ever eaten. My husband had the venison & couldn't stop raving about it. We shared a warm chocolate cake topped with ginger ice cream to finish the meal. Unbelievable how good it all was. The only bad part to this place is that it is too far from where we live to visit it on a regular basis.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lhabr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Number 1 in flagstaff by a country mile unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Found this place by chance, and had maybe the best meal on the west side of the USA, the small and intimate restaurant was amazing from start to finish. The chef prepares amazing dishes cooked to perfection, we are here for 2 nights and will be eating there again tomorrow night!! Remember in Arizona if you are a tourist and look under 30 in the state you need to bring your passport as ID as they don't except international ID's .....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendenAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had dinner here with my husband while vacationing in Flagstaff. We ordered the fried calamari for an appetizer which was plenty to share for 2 people with some to spare but it had no flavor even with the side sauce.
I had the venison which although had the potential to be great was only mediocre. I love and appreciate flavor but the small entree was over-powered by the flavoring of the meat (granted it was cooked right), blue cheese, pistachios and figs (figs were a nice treat) on top. not to mention the attempt of a risotto under the meat which all of this was served on top of a layer of an oil like sauce. The presentation looked delightful but I'm not a fan of having my food served saturated in fat. My husband had the lamb and it was the same presentation/small entree. The lamb was served over a puddle of an oil type sauce with a spoonful of "risotto" served with the meat which the meat itself was good (cooked to the desired liking) but nothing special.
The service was good but the waitress never even introduced herself or told us her name. For the overall price of the meal there are better places to eat it town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TG55667788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tinderbox Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing