We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay for a snowboarding holiday!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Lift Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ski Lift Lodge
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a snowboarding holiday!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights while we were snowboarding. We picked it for its great location near to the snowbowl.
Our room was clean & nicely presented with a very cute fire in the corner of the room.
The staff were very helpful & friendly. We ate there one night & is was really good.
Not sure where the not so positive reviews have come from but I say you get what you pay for & I thought that we got more than we expected.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmySlife186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    17
    4
    9
See reviews for
40
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We recently stayed at this excuse of an hotel and had the worst experience ever. The rooms were filthy dirty, small and not meant for a family of 4. For $79 there are better deals only 7 miles away. And this place isn't exactly at the base of snow bowl.
The staff was ok. The restaurant was awful greasy food. Being the only place, they had no general sundries.
There is no security at this place and so if your are wiu kids, you may want to reconsider. Also no one is available at the front desk 24/7. We had some people throw snow balls at our door in the middle of the night and run away. We decided to leave At 2am because my kids were so scared.
When we called to tell management the next morning they did nothing. They said they were sorry, that,s it. It was very disappointing. Please if you care for your life and the safety of your family, Dont stay there!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gmobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrgreysbff, Manager at Ski Lift Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
We are a family friendly property. Thursday nights we offer half off our wings in the restaurant. This has become a very popular night at the restaurant with nearly the whole neighborhood coming in to socialize and enjoy our food. The neighborhood kids enjoy this night as well. When there is snow on the ground snowballs get thrown, though not usually at the cabin doors.

I think that this guest somehow believed that their family was the sole target of this childish prank. Upon learning of the incident, an investigation took place, and it was determined that this was just that, a childish prank. Other guests had similar complaints that night however nobody was ever in danger. There is somebody available 24 hours on the property in case of a real emergency, though it is true that the front desk has limited operating hours. It closes around 9pm nightly.

I corresponded with this guest a couple times after they checked out ( at normal check out time.) They complained to the desk upon checking out and never mentioned that they had to leave at 2 am because they felt so insecure. They actually stayed two nights and this occured on the second night. We refunded the second night and assured them that this was not a normal occurrence. We also invited them back to stay another night with room and tax on us, but they declined.

I have managed this property for 2 years and been living on the property for 4. It is what it is and not what it is not. It is not the Ritz. It is the Ski Lift Lodge, a rustic property 7 miles outside Flagstaff on US HWY 180. Peaceful, quiet, clean rooms, good food, excellent service, friendly staff, and run by real people. We stand behind our product and realize that it is not for everybody and that is OK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I noticed right away the room had a urine smell although it looked fairly clean. The restaurant associated with the hotel was fine except that when you got to get ice you went into the kitchen of the restaurant and helped yourself. Kinda unsanitary I would think.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrgreysbff, Manager at Ski Lift Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
We have identified the source of the smell in those rooms. It was septic related.

I do not know of any guest helping themselves to ice, but some people feel so at home here that they just help themselves instead of asking for assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Cabin style rooms, very quaint. Friendly staff, great coffee at continental breakfast. Shower head needed lime deposit remover - that's the only complaint. No phone in the room but now everyone has cell phone and there's payphones on property. You can drive out of the parking lot and up to the lift. Very quiet and peaceful. Great restaurant. FREE WIFI. Also have motel style rooms if you prefer. No AC but we went in July and didn't need the AC. It was 65 degrees at night and we leftthe window open. There's also a fan in the room. Gas heater if needed. Loved our stay! 2 cats on propery that are adorable.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebehrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed in Flagstaff for one night for the Snowbowl Scenic Skyride. The hotel was decent for one night. I agree with the other review...the mattress is hard. Bring your own pillows since the pillows are bad. It's simple with no luxuries or frills. They have two cats on premise that leave paw prints on your car hood. The breakfast was okay-only continental. The good thing is that you can park right outside your building if you request the front parking lot rooms. Stay here during the winter season for skiing since it's literally at the Snowbowl base. The regular bartender is cool, many locals at night on weekend.Right off the main roadway so you can hear traffic and all walk through traffic since the flooring outside the cabins is wood. Lots of stomping and boot noise. In the summer, they have outside lunch and dinner seating which is nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo090981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed at the Ski Lift Lodge for 3 nights in early April. Skied one day at Snowbowl, and drove to Sedona the next. SkiLift Lodge is very quaint. Small.. with 20 or so motel/cabin-like rooms. Rooms are small.. 2 double beds, bathroom, gas fireplace, very cute. Beautiful surroundings in the Pine Forest (Cocochino Forest). there is a restaurant/bar /Lodge located just a few feet away from the motel rooms. We had dinner there one night which was good. Went there a few times just for a drink. The restaurant has a free continental breakfast each morning which was great. Saturdays and sundays they have hot food for breakfast. Restaurant is open 4-9 in the evenings. You can take anything (including drinks) back to your motel if you like. Everyone there very nice. Easy to book a room, easy to ask questions via e-mail and get a quick response. We enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

I made a reservation in early December for this hotel and cancelled a few weeks later, due to a change in plans. I received an email confirmation of the cancellation. When my credit card bill came, there was a one night charge on there. I called to have it removed, but here we are weeks later and I still have not received a credit. Poor business practice!!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DSims473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
6.1 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arizona Mountain Inn & Cabins
6.2 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#12 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#34 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
7.1 mi away
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
#20 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lift Lodge

Property: Ski Lift Lodge
Address: 6355 N Highway 180, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-7907
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ski Lift Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regardless of whether you're planning a visit in winter, summer, spring, or fall, these cabins are an ideal place to stay. Located the closest to the slopes of Arizona Snowbowl, this accommodation also provides direct access to northern Arizona's attractions including the Grand Canyon and is perfect for those who want to access hiking or biking trails from their door steps. The restaurant located on the premises offers nightly dinner specials and homemade cheesecake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ski Lift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lift Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing