We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sledding!!!”
Review of Arizona Snowbowl

Arizona Snowbowl
Ranked #12 of 109 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Perfect corduroy on bluebird days, untracked powder in the upper bowl, drinks on the deck of Agassiz Lodge, and epic views of the Gran Canyon. This is what our guests love about skiing and riding at Arizona Snowbowl! Home to Arizona's longest ski season, 240 inches of annual snowfall and the largest beginner terrain in the Southwest, Snowbowl is proud to offer the premier winter experience.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My little Nephew is such a dare devil for a 2 year old. He kept wanting to go sledding on every step slope he saw. :) this place is awesome snow year around, always dress warm and double up on those socks! haha

Thank latania t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 392 of 591 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

When traveling during the summer, get there early and ride the chairlift to the top. Beautiful views of northern Arizona and you can see the North Rim of the Grand Canyon on a clear day. Take good hiking shoes and hike around the top. Take a light jacket as temperatures vary quite a bit once you're at the top of the mountain.

1  Thank cdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

At $15 each, this was good value considering it's a good 20 minute cable car ride up to the top (and then back). The views are excellent and even on the slightly overcast day we visited, you could see the 50 or so miles across to the Grand Canyon. Well worth it for the panoramic view! There were thunder storms forecast unfortunately so our planned hike at the top was curtailed as they'd shut the paths. Never mind.
In summary, I'd thoroughly recommend this as something to do if you have half a day spare in the Flagstaff area.

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for making Snowbowl part of your vacation.
As you have mentions, the Scenic Chairlift is conveniently located near Flagstaff and can be added to any itinerary, whether you are staying in town or passing by.

We hope you can also join us in other seasons: during fall colors or winter months for skiing and riding.
Thanks again! Enjoy the rest of your vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The chair ride up is about 25 minutes and the view is pretty impressive. Once you get to the top there is a ranger there that can give you the history of the area and point out several things to look at. A short walk(5min) up a steep hill will bring you to the highest point you can go to in the area. Give yourself about an hour up top and enjoy the view.

2  Thank papamikeinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you very much for checking out Arizona Snowbowl and marking it s "must to in summer".
There is truly no other place in Arizona from where you can see for miles like you can from the top of the Scenic Chairlift.

Please give us a try in winter, when you can ski or ride with the same breathtaking views.
We look forward to seeing you on the slopes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Arrived late Friday afternoon and restaurant was closed for a private party. Probably set up for more action in the winter as most of the tables and chairs were stored. I'll bet the trip over the winding roads is really tiring when they are snowed in.

Thank KennyL936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for checking out Snowbowl.
Based on your description we wonder if you have arrived to Hart Prairie Lodge, (the first one as you drive up on Snowbowl Road). 1/4 mile past that lodge, there is Agassiz Lodge, which is open to the public in summer Friday through Sunday.

There are more people who visit us in winter. Our crew is dedicated to keeping the road plowed and cindered, so there are rarely situations when you need 4WD or chains to get up here.
We invite you to check out Arizona Snowbowl in winter - we plan to be open for skiing and riding from early December through early April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Snowbowl also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Snowbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing