We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skylift in the rain”
Review of Arizona Snowbowl

Arizona Snowbowl
Ranked #12 of 104 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located on the majestic San Francisco Peaks, the Arizona Snowbowl lies 14 miles outside of Flagstaff. IN WINTER, join us for skiing and riding over our 777 acres, 40+ trails, and 2,300 vertical feet. The ski area's snowmaking capabilities offer season's opening in mid-November through mid-April for all skill levels. IN SUMMER, the Scenic Chairlift shuttles riders to the top of Arizona (11,500 feet/ 3,500 m). Join us for a round of disc golf, go on a hike and treat yourself to lunch with a view at Agassiz Lodge Restaurant.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skylift in the rain”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Did the skylift to the top which with Groupon was more than worth it. Family saw deer which made it worth while. The View was amazing, however, watch the weather as rain came in suddenly and unexpectedly so the time at the top was limited. Very friendly staff. Cleanliness at the restaurant, especially the bar area left much to be desired.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank aztexknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    195
    54
    19
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome ride in solitude with amazing views!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Got a great deal on Groupon and gave the summer chairlift ride a try. Amazing views. Could see for hundreds of miles. Weather was beautiful and it was nice and quite. You could hear the breeze in trees and birds singing. Ride lasted about 30 min each way. Park rangers at the top to answer questions. Tip: Its a little chilly at the top, so bring a light jacket.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LBJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We appreciate you making us a part of your vacation. Please consider coming back again - either to ride the lift during the fall colors or in winter to test your skiing or riding skills.
Either way, you will enjoy the beauty of northern Arizona, clean air and a plenty of sunshine.
Thank you and enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“gorgeous views”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Tool the chairlift to the top of snowbowl mountain and it was wonderful, scary on the way up it is a 2000ft lift no snow but very cold at the top bring a jacket.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Arizona Snowbowl is the coolest place in Arizona, literally. The temperatures at the top (at 11,500 ft) are usually 10-20 degrees cooler than in Flagstaff, making it sometimes 40-50 degrees cooler than in the valley. We always recommend dressing in layers (just in case). Having sunglasses and sunscreen is also always a good idea.
Thank you for making us a part of you vacation. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Our first time skiing and we had a blast. My 6 year old took ski lessons and he loved it. His instructor was great, although I did notice one or two that weren't too good. Beautiful views. It wasn't as cold as I thought it would be and for that reason the snow is artificially made. Great first time experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chaparrita83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hooray to the first timers! We are so glad to hear that your son loved his first days on the snow. Snowbowl is proud to offer one of the best and largest beginner terrains in the Southwest.
Many think that it should be cold on the snow, but our skiers and riders enjoy mild temperatures, over 260 inches of snow annually and lots of sunshine, making Snowbowl a great place to learn and to perfect your skills.
We look forward to seeing both you and your son on the slopes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery on Ski Lift”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great service, easy parking and an all around wonderful time. Purchased through a groupon, so I'm not sure how much it normally costs. But I will definitely repeat!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NikkiNicoleInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave this comment on the Scenic Chairlift.
For your repeat trip to Snowbowl, please consider fall colors in September and October, when the temperatures are a bit cooler and aspen turns bright yellow - it is truly a magical time to be here. Winter at Snowbowl are fun too - come and enjoy skiing and riding with the same sunshine as you experience in summer.
Whenever you arrive - we hope you enjoy your trip to Snowbowl!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Snowbowl also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Snowbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing