We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give the bowl your love in the summer”
Review of Arizona Snowbowl

Arizona Snowbowl
Ranked #12 of 103 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located on the majestic San Francisco Peaks, the Arizona Snowbowl lies 14 miles outside of Flagstaff. IN WINTER, join us for skiing and riding over our 777 acres, 40+ trails, and 2,300 vertical feet. The ski area's snowmaking capabilities offer season's opening in mid-November through mid-April for all skill levels. IN SUMMER, the Scenic Chairlift shuttles riders to the top of Arizona (11,500 feet/ 3,500 m). Join us for a round of disc golf, go on a hike and treat yourself to lunch with a view at Agassiz Lodge Restaurant.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Give the bowl your love in the summer”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a destination stop for our group of motorcycle riders. We called ahead and got discount tickets to ride the lift. Beautiful scenery! What a way to beat the Phoenix heat in the summer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Christine,
thank you very much for your positive review.
The Scenic Chairlift is truly a great option to escape the heat as the temperatures at the top (11,500 ft) can be 30-40 degrees cooler than in the valley.
Check the weather for a chance of monsoon showers and don't forget to dress in layers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    192
    54
    19
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Attended a wedding reception held at the Hart Prairie Lodge at the lower portion of the snowbowl. Enjoyed the facilities and the parking was ample. The ski resort is about 7 miles outside Flagstaff along the route north towards the Grand Canyon and sits at approximately 9500 feet above sea level. They usually get excellent snowfall levels during ski season but have been known to use artificial snow makers during difficient periods.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KJDC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving this positive feedback.
We are proud to offer some of the most majestic landscapes of Northern Arizona for weddings in rustic chic style with an option of private chairlift rides and mountain side rehearsal dinners.
In winters, we also stay busy with a ski season from early December through early April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Chair lift to the top”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We bought a Groupon for 4 lift rides. It was a 25 min trip each way and very quiet and peaceful. You can hear the wind through the Ponderosa pines there. Make sure you bring a jacket as the temp difference between base and summit was 20-30 degrees in June. It you are afraid of height this is not for you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for making us a part of your vacation and taking time to leave this positive feedback.
Please consider coming back again in winter to enjoy the same sunshine while skiing or riding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
368 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Wonderful views from the top”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a terrific summer experience. We purchased our tickets through a Groupon coupon which made this experience a tremendous value. I recommend that you purchase tickets online if no special is available to save some money over buying at the site. The ride to the top takes about a half hour and there really is not a lot to see on the way; however, once you are at 11,500 feet elev., the views are breathtaking. The temps are at least 20 degrees cooler than Flagstaff, so be prepared. We had high winds the day we went and the last of the Slide Fire made the views less clear, but they were still wonderful. Once at the top, you can hike uphill to another view point with even better views. We were cold when we got back to the lodge and enjoyed a very hot cup of cocoa to warm up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for making the Scenic Chairlift a part of your day off. We are glad you could enjoy the beauty of northern Arizona.

You comment is just another reminder to the riders looking for a great way to cool off on a hot summer day. Temperatures are usually cooler at this elevation, and having an extra layer, or a cup of hot cocoa, is always a good idea.

Thank you once again for coming up. We invite you back again on the chairlift during the fall colors in September and October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A ride to the top!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Being from a mountain-less area, we had to make sure that we included a ride up the mountain during our trip to the area.

Snowbowl is only open Friday, Saturday, and Sunday so be aware and plan accordingly.

The staff were very nice. They had a great many chairs running so there was no wait.

The views from the top were amazing!

As a bonus, we saw elk grazing on the ride back to Flagstaff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Julie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you Ms Julie for your positive comment.

Mountains of northern Arizona are truly spectacular and we are glad you could enjoy them by riding the lift and even being lucky enough to spot elk.

Thank you for sharing your photo.
Please come back in winter and test your skiing or riding skills on our slopes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Snowbowl also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Snowbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing