We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ride to the top!”
Review of Arizona Snowbowl

Arizona Snowbowl
Ranked #12 of 109 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the majestic San Francisco Peaks, the Arizona Snowbowl lies 14 miles outside of Flagstaff. IN SUMMER/FALL, the Scenic Chairlift shuttles riders to the top of Arizona (11,500 feet/ 3,500 m). Join us for a round of disc golf, go on a hike and treat yourself to lunch with a view at Agassiz Lodge Restaurant. IN WINTER, join us for skiing and riding over our 777 acres, 40+ trails, and 2,300 vertical feet. The ski area's snowmaking capabilities offer season's opening in mid-November through the end of April for all skill levels.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Being from a mountain-less area, we had to make sure that we included a ride up the mountain during our trip to the area.

Snowbowl is only open Friday, Saturday, and Sunday so be aware and plan accordingly.

The staff were very nice. They had a great many chairs running so there was no wait.

The views from the top were amazing!

As a bonus, we saw elk grazing on the ride back to Flagstaff.

1  Thank Ms_Julie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you Ms Julie for your positive comment.

Mountains of northern Arizona are truly spectacular and we are glad you could enjoy them by riding the lift and even being lucky enough to spot elk.

Thank you for sharing your photo.
Please come back in winter and test your skiing or riding skills on our slopes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 406 of 585 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was the Snowbowl Scenic Chair lift which only runs on out of season weekends so we were pleased to have been in Flagstaff when this was on.

The chair lift up to the summit takes approx 40 minutes each way but it is a very gentle ride.

The views when you reach the top are just amazing. As it was a beautiful sunny day we could make out the North Rim of the Grand Canyon.

The Ranger at the summit was very friendly and helpful pointing out the various points of interest.

We thought this was excellent value for money and were surprised how few people were taking advantage of this event.

Thank lovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your comment and including the Scenic Chairlift into your vacation plans.
We are always excited to hear from our international guests. Please enjoy the rest of your trip across northern Arizona and please come back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This place has it all, from easy slopes to get you started to some serious slopes for those NOT faint of heart! I like that the slopes are wide and allow for plenty of room to negotiate. The facilities are sufficient and well maintained.

1  Thank Jatzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you very much for visiting us and taking time to leave this positive review.
Your comment says it all. Even though we pride ourselves in having the largest beginner terrain in the southwest, there are many trails to explore for progression and personal challenge.
Thank you for visiting, we look forward to seeing you on the slopes again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our information was that the Snowbowl was open Fri-Sun in the summer including Memorial day. It did not specify that it did not open UNTIL Memorial Day. We drove the 7 miles of hairpin bends to the top - only to find that the lift was closed. A nice drive any way and the scenery was great. A lot of bicyclists going up and down. It would have helped to have had a sign at the beginning of the road stating that ski lift was closed.

Thank mike2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

We are so sorry to hear that there was confusion in communicating our hours of operation.
As we try to educate the marketplace, it is not always easy. There are many tourism information providers in town and in the state, and some mistakes are bound to happen.
We advise everyone to always check out website www.arizonasnowbowl.com as the official resource for all things Snowbowl.
We hope you enjoyed northern Arizona enough to come back again – in summer or in winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Located in Humphrey’s Peak, with its highest point at 11,500 ft, is the best place to go skiing. The resort is 7 miles away from Flagstaff. You can reach it through Hwy 180 and then taking the Snowbowl road all the way to the lodge.

During the summer it is a lot of fun, too. Arizona Snowbowl keeps one of the chairlifts open and offers a nice scenic ride to the top of the mountain. The ride takes about 25 minutes each way and you can stay at the top as long as you want. If possible, bring a pair of binoculars and a camera, the view is spectacular.

Check out the complete article about this place in my blog: http://lagamio.com/2014/05/13/lift-ride/

1  Thank Sandra Á
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you Sandra for taking your time to review Arizona Snowbowl and a great blog article you wrote.
Please come back to the slopes again – in winter, spring, summer or fall – all seasons are beautiful here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Snowbowl also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Snowbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing