We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chairlift to the top of the highest peak in AZ!”
Review of Arizona Snowbowl

Arizona Snowbowl
Ranked #11 of 108 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the majestic San Francisco Peaks, the Arizona Snowbowl lies 14 miles outside of Flagstaff. IN SUMMER, the Scenic Chairlift shuttles riders to the top of Arizona (11,500 feet/ 3,500 m). Join us for a round of disc golf, go on a hike and treat yourself to lunch with a view at Agassiz Lodge Restaurant. IN WINTER, join us for skiing and riding over our 777 acres, 40+ trails, and 2,300 vertical feet. The ski area's snowmaking capabilities offer season's opening in mid-November through the end of April for all skill levels.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The summer chairlift ride at Arizona Snowbowl in Flagstaff is at once, thrilling and peaceful. You get on the lift at an elevation of 9,500 feet and travel up to the peak of the highest mountain in Arizona located at an incredible 11,500 feet. The chair affords you a beautiful 360 degree view of the evergreen trees and landscape. At the top, you dismount and have a view that stretches all the way to the Grand Canyon! It is nice and cool, so I recommend at least a long sleeved shirt. The elevation made it tough to hike at the top, but many people were in good enough shape to do it. When you get back down, there are opportunities for eating and drinking and games for the kids. Our 6 year old grandson had a super time at Snowbowl. A groupon coupon made the cost for my wife and me and our grandson only $15. People over 70 and under 7 years old ride free. Don't miss this peaceful and exhilarating experience.

Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Mike, thank you for your great review and suggestions to our customers.
We always appreciate feedback. Summers are gorgeous in northern Arizona, but we also advise keeping fall in mind. Monsoon showers will be off and the aspen colors will be glowing in yellow. The lift will operate through fall leaves until mid October. We look forward to seeing you then again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Arizona Snowbowl
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 465 of 576 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Okay, I know, double exclamation points, it's dumb. But seriously, the ski lift at Arizona Snowbowl is tons of fun and amazing views for the whole family, no kidding. The views from the starting point are amazing, about a half hour on paved (though sometimes a little rough) roads, and a brief drive the last quarter mile or so on an improved gravel road.

The lift runs Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and holiday Mondays. It's a good idea to get there about 9:30 or even a little before to get in line, they start selling tickets at 10:00 and that line can get long quickly. There are some free hydration stations (small cups with ice water) so you can avoid expensive bottled water, but don't skimp where I did - the sunscreen! Whoops. A little burned!

The views from the top are, frankly, stunning. Take a camera. Strike that - take a really good camera! Be prepared for it to be warmer than you think, and windy. There isn't a whole ton to do at the top other than walk a bit, but it is very worth it. As I said, the views are really amazing.

There's a hydration station at the top, but the cups were melted together. The rangers are extremely helpful, very informative, and thrilled to be on the mountain. They love it whether you're from Arizona or Australia - they enjoy giving you the information you need.

It seems there are a lot of reasons the lift would not take people up the mountain, from weather to fire conditions - apparently the day before there was a small forest fire that stopped the lift going, which may have contributed to the large number of people on the Sunday I went. The drive itself is fairly scenic, so even if you can't go up the mountain that day, you can get to the lower lifts and possibly hike around, and definitely take some pictures from there. This is worth doing!

Thank TravelingCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with others. We love reading our customers’ reviews. You’ve spelled out everything: from the check-list before the ride, to what the riders can expect up here. We are glad we were a part of your day off and it seems like you truly enjoyed it. Thanks for coming!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Be sure to call ahead of time because wind and showers can quickly close the ride in the summer. I was surprised it took about 35 min to get to the top. Once there a scenic view. There are hiking options at the top, sometimes guided . There was an outdoor restaurant and music at the base.

Thank MarlaHep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Took the ski lift to the top of the mountain this past weekend with my husband and 12-year old daughter. Not our first time, but still amazing. The ride (about 25 minutes each way) is lovely, especially coming down, with beautiful views of the mountains. You can spend as much time as you would like at the top, there is a ranger to answer questions. It's a little chilly, we all wore coats, but had shorts or capris on. They are open Friday-Sunday and holiday Mondays. If you buy your tickets online before you go, you can save 25% and if you go on your birthday (like we did for my husband) you ride for FREE! Friendly staff, restaurant at the bottom and outdoor patio to dine on. Nice afternoon

1  Thank dme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with other readers. We are glad you enjoyed an afternoon with us!
We look forward to seeing you here again – maybe for a Sunset Chairlift Ride or when the leaves change colors and it is absolutely gorgeous out here. We will stay open through mid October (weather permitting).
Thank you once again and have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just took the ski lift for the experience this summer. The scenery and views were out of this world! It is a super activity for all ages.

There is also a small restaurant at the base of the ski lift. During the summer there is live entertainment which is very enjoyable.

Alot enough time so that you can also enjoy a short hike at the top. It is a good idea to bring a jacket since it can get quite cool at 11,500 feet!

1  Thank Amiga9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad we could share the great views of northern Arizona with you via the Scenic Chairlift Ride. If you are ever back in Arizona in winter, please consider us for skiing or snowboarding. We offer the same relaxed and laid back atmosphere while enjoying mild winter temperatures and great snow. Thank you once again and have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Snowbowl also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Snowbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing