We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time Skiing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arizona Snowbowl

Arizona Snowbowl
Ranked #12 of 100 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located on the majestic San Francisco Peaks, the Arizona Snowbowl lies 14 miles outside of Flagstaff. IN WINTER, join us for skiing and riding over our 777 acres, 40+ trails, and 2,300 vertical feet. The ski area's snowmaking capabilities offer season's opening in mid-November through mid-April for all skill levels. IN SUMMER, the Scenic Chairlift shuttles riders to the top of Arizona (11,500 feet/ 3,500 m). Join us for a round of disc golf, go on a hike and treat yourself to lunch with a view at Agassiz Lodge Restaurant.
Madison, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Great Time Skiing!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We all had a great time and the boys enjoyed ski school! Great experience for the money and plan to go again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    192
    54
    19
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not crowded and good value. Food options are good and store has plenty of forgotten items. If snowing at base of mountain ..... USE CHAINS!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Guest Relations Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review of Arizona Snowbowl. We're glad you enjoyed your time here. With great natural snowfall this year (nearly 200 inches so far!) and a full snowmaking system we look to have great conditions all the way through March and into April. We hope you'll be back to enjoy great spring skiing conditions and great lift ticket deals that can be found on our website under the "Specials" page.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Ski Resort”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Although I don't ski, my husband does and my son snowboards. We go a special deal for skiing on Tuesday, only $40 for an all day lift ticket. The boys had a great time and I was quite comfortable in the lodge. Arizona Snowbowl is a fun place to go with your family.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TRix82913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Guest Relations Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review of Arizona Snowbowl. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and were able to take advantage of our midweek specials. With great natural snowfall this year (nearly 200 inches so far!) and a full snowmaking system we look to have great conditions all the way through March and into April. We hope you'll be back to enjoy great spring skiing conditions and more great lift ticket deals that can be found on our website under the "Specials" page.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Agassiz lift closed”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is the main lift acess for the resort. I was there on 1/18/13. They indicated on their website that the lift would be open and did not update the Info until after the resort opened. I was in the area for the weekend and had come in on Thursday to ski on Friday. All week I checked the web to make sure that the weather and such would make the effort of taking ski equipment worth it. The resort staff had nothing to offer as an explanation. It appeared that they were more interested in getting people up the mountain and get their money rather than post information that may keep people at home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 52kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Guest Relations Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello Kevin,
We're sorry you were visiting Snowbowl when the Agassiz lift went down due to mechanical issues.

Consecutive nights of record-cold, below zero temperatures caused several components of the hydraulic tensioning system to lose their integrity and render the lift inoperable. One large hydraulic ram that controls the tension was removed and taken to Phoenix to be rebuilt. Upon installing the ram Thursday afternoon we discovered additional problems with the hydraulic pressure system. Parts were located and sent by air to Phoenix and brought to Flagstaff where our lift maintenance team worked day and night to have it working by Saturday. This incident was not foreseeable and is quite unique. Our lift crew acted quickly in assessing the problem and we made the decision for safety reasons that the downtime during the week to correct the situation was necessary.

We know the importance of the Agassiz lift to the operation and regret any inconvenience this may have caused our guests. Since then Agassiz has opened every day except on extreme high wind days. We hope you'll come back and give us another chance with all the lifts running.
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely high altitude family resort”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

wonderful place to ski for mixed ages and abilities! Nice variety of trails, o.k. lodges to hang out, although food is very overpriced (worth bringing your own). Great views from over 10,000 feet, even of the Grand Canyon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drsunshineNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiinginaz, Guest Relations Manager at Arizona Snowbowl, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review of Arizona Snowbowl. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and were able to take advantage of our varied terrain. With great natural snowfall this year (nearly 200 inches so far!) and a full snowmaking system we look to have great conditions all the way through March and into April. We hope you'll be back to enjoy great spring skiing conditions and great lift ticket deals that can be found on our website under the "Specials" page.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Snowbowl also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Snowbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing