We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun!”
Review of Lava River Cave

Lava River Cave
Ranked #5 of 106 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had no idea what to expect with this but it turned out to be quite an adventure. It was chilly and I would definitely recommend tennis shoes and flashlights for this. I would recommend the flashlights you can attach to a hat or item of clothing. It really would have been helpful to have both hands free while climbing. When you get to the site all you see is this circle of rocks and then a small opening. You climb down into this hole and you are in a whole different world. Definitely not something you experience every day!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tami Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    105
    18
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our granddaughters were 9 and 12 when we took them here and they LOVED it. It's a bit rocky to get down into the cave, but once you're in it's smooth sailing, make sure you take lights AND back up lights -- you don't want to get caught down there with a dead flashlight. It's also quite cool so take a light jacket. What a super place to spend a couple of hours!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank BlackBeltOjibwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lava River Case”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place is really cool, but be prepared with lights, jackets, and study shoes. It is NOT easy to get into - you have to climb down a lot of big rocks in total darkness. Some of them are slippery. If you don't like the dark or feel claustrophobic, DO NOT go in. Also, the signs on the main road are gone and it's almost impossible to find....go the the Visitor's Center in Flagstaff - they know exactly where it is. It is nice and cool after spending several days in HOT hot hot Arizona :-)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceptionally dark (it's a cave); worthwhile experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lava River Cave is a bit off the beaten track (north and west of Flagstaff) on a dusty road. Driving up to it, one comes to a lonely parking lot with a tiny sign leading visitors through a 2-minute walk to the entrance to the cave. Staring at the entrance of the cave one wonders how to possibly fit through the tiny opening. Once you descend the steep entrance, it's a pleasant walk through a cold cave (35 - 40 degrees). It varies from being a 20-foot high ceiling down to ~4-feet at some points. Take your time, don't fall on slippery, loose rocks. The flashlight app on an iPhone was sufficient light.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting, but Disappointed.”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Took family (2 adults and 3 teens) to the lava cave yesterday. It was very interesting for the first 15 minutes, then it became boring. The kids went through it quickly, but us older folks were slower. Partly because we are out if shape and because we briught two of our dogs. Dont take your pets. The struggled as much as we did. Wear good himing style boots as the rocks can be damp and slippery at times. Though it is cooler in the cave, it is also humid. We were tired, scrapped up, and felt sticky dirty when we finished. Yuck.

Helpful?
1 Thank TexasRVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lava River Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing