We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monte Vista
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed June 4, 2007

The location is great but they don't warn you about the train that is two blocks away and passes through every 45 minutes all night long. It blows its whistle every time through. They offer free ear plugs at the front desk but they are so small they might plug a mouse's ear. Also, the street below is loud all night. They told us to park our car in their lot which is cramped and of course our car was side swiped while in the lot. We had a strange encounter with a hotel worker in the middle of the night when we were waiting for the elevator. They started becoming agressive when they over heard our private conversation about how slow the elevator was. The elevator is from the 1920s or something and we privately making fun of it. This worker became hostile and it made the rest of our stay feel unwelcome.

The rooms are historic and clean. The bed is comfortable. The front desk staff is nice. Even though we were only about 2 hours from Phoenix I felt like we were back in time but that is the point of a historic hotel right? The ghost stories and pictures are cool.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travel_Happy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 477 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2007

The Hotel Motel Vista was a great stay. The room price was negotiable. This location allowed us to make several day trips ( the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Sunset Crater Volcano, etc) and return to the hotel each night, no packing and unpacking. Several local eating places proved to be inexpensive and delightful. Be sure to visit Oreganos and Cafe Express. Take in an evening at the Lowell observatory to see the stars and planets.
You can spend a week at the Monte Vista enjoying the local cuisine and the unbelievable sights and stay within a fairly tight budget.
Remember too, that Flagstaff is above 7,00 feet and you can freeze your tail off even during the month of May.
Trains seem to run through Flagstaff and near the Monte Vista every few minutes. The volumes of trains seem to peak sometime during the middle of the night. It's not so much the trains as their horns. The trains seem to rock you asleep then the horns wake you.
The stay at the Monte Vista was great and the sights within driving distance of Flagstaff were fantistic.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank SlimInAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Dad, mom, sis and I stayed at Hotel Monte Vista for 3 nights and we all rave about it! Every room has its own identity, so you may want to inquire about the "personality" of the room before booking it. We stayed in the Jack Daniels room. Beds were extremely comfortable, and we shared a common bath area with rooms on each side. The location is superb with all of downtown Flagstaff within walking distance. There's a lovely coffee shop downstairs that doubles as a martini bar at night. If you're afraid the music from local pubs or bars on the street will be a nuisance at night, the staff is more than accomodating to find you a room where the windows open up to the alley. Be mindful there were no A/C units, but for us, it wasn't a problem since the temperature never got above 75 degrees during the day, and even dipped into the low 30's at night. All in all, it was an excellent hotel and we all highly recommend it. Plus, their room rates will beat almost any hotel in the city!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Pros
Location - er that's it! It's right in the middle of Flagstaff (but within constant earshot of the trains).

Cons:
Frat kids' paradise. Noisy. Noise is tolerated by all staff, encouraged even by bar opeing hours on ground floor. Is this a frat house disguised as a hotel?
Reception staff - seem to be university students (going by their ages) - truly, truly not at all interested - they make zero effort to help, advise, looked bored (as kids do)...... Staff's policy seems to be not do go the extra inch, never mind a mile. SERIOUSLY, there must be people in Flagstaff who would do a better job.
The 'Historic' elevator is not historic. It is old, like the hotel.
Decor is tatty, needs a serious makeover.
No room clean ( we stayed 2 days). The maid emptied the bins and folded our dirty towels. Bed unmade, no vacuuming, wiping, nothing, nada (This at least got $20 knocked off the bill, WOW!)
Shower head came away and landed on my head, followed by Niagara. Still, my hair got a good rinse.
You can't escape, you can't cut and run due to the 48 hour cancellation policy - very sensible on the part of the hotel - otherwise most people would go running after one night in this hole.
You can either let this type of thing ruin your hiliday - or just laugh about it.
We tried to laugh .
Alcohol helped us to sleep a bit during the 2nd night.
Go elsewhere - and force them to smarten up their act (the place was full - WHY??)

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elliethepellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

I was extremely disappointed with my experience at the Monte Vista. Having spent time there before, I was looking forward to the charm I remembered. On the contrary, the experience was anything but charming. I was fully aware of and anticipated the train noise, the street activity and the lack of amenities. Again, this is the charm of staying in a haunted hotel with historic value.

The disappointing part was the complete disregard for the patrons and the quality of experience. This was obviously an environment now that catered to the party. The lounge (located downstairs) stayed open until 3:00a.m. There was NO control over the crowd. Bar patrons were 'allowed' to run the halls of the hotel, scream and yell into the street, climb the walls of the hotel, climb onto the balconies and throe things at the windows. To add insult, doors were slamming shut all night, rooms were packed with people (young adults) who obviously were well aware of the lack of regulations because of the constant yelling and belligerent behavior in the hotel. Calls made to the front desk were dismissed and then ignored.

The next day we were told, "what do you expect? We have the hottest bar in town and it's a holiday. " That was the attitude overall.

The charming fixtures, restaurant and rooms have been turned into trash. You would be hard pressed to find a celebrity staying there ever again. The nostalgia of the hotel and the history of the town have been given up to a disgusting environment now worthy of the pretentious criticism it received before when folks stayed thinking they were going to receive room service and ice machines in the hallway.

Monte Vista, you have sold out and I am disheartened. Change your ads, your web site and your brochures to reflect the true place you are running. Don't post room prices either. You never adhere to them anyway.

Thank you

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank finLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

After check-in we climbed the stairs to our third and fourth floor rooms (elevator not working).
The following morning we reported no hot water in a couple of the rooms and the heat didn't work properly.
Parking space is limited in the lot but we lucked out and found a spot.
You can hear the trains but that was okay since we arrived on Amtrak and planned to ride the Verde Canyon Railroad and the Grand Canyon Railway.
The hot water and heat problem was not corrected and they didn't offer another room.
We wanted to check out (pay our bill) the night before our early morning departure but they couldn't handle that either.
The clerk assured us they would give a credit for the cold water in the shower but that remains to be seen.
The really bad part is when I checked my credit card statement they more than double charged me. I called the manager, Saffron, and she said she would credit my account. Over a week later I checked and she added another $419.00 to the card! Now I am waiting for a return call.
It might not be a bad idea if the fire marshall did an inspection. They lock the front door at night without a panic bar. The stairway is open without the protection of doors on each level.
The bar is noisy and the tatoo parlor was busy.
It is an easy walk from the Amtrak train station.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Passenger-Rail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. Two rooms and little sleep later, we can recommend this hotel for people who intend to be out and up until 3 a.m. only. The first night we were in a room on the 4th floor almost directly above the hotel's dive bar. Screaming drunk people, a booming bouncer's voice, and bongo drums prevented us from sleeping. I called the front desk for the third time a little before 2 a.m. They were friendly, but couldn't let us out of our reservation for the following night as the policy demands 48 hours notice. Instead they promised us a room change in the morning. Around 2:30 a.m. when all the drunk kids finally got in their cars and went home, a drum circle (along with a tamborine player) spontaneously formed outside the pita place across the street and played until just before 3. I wished for water balloons.

The next morning we got "upgraded" to a bigger room around the corner. That night the street wasn't as noisy, but we still ended up turning on the TV around 2 a.m. to try to block out the yelling of the departing bar-goers. Then drunk kids came yelling down our hallway to their room but blessedly passed out. But we still did not get much sleep, the shower in the second room was useless (was good in the first room at least), and the lamp on the nightstand had no lightbulb.

The hotel has the very noisy dive bar and also "Rendevous," a coffee shop/bar downstairs that is worth visiting, as well as many nearby restaurants and bars. Then after a lovely night out, you ought to retreat to a hotel somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tucsontraveler1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#35 of 65 in Flagstaff
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#19 of 65 in Flagstaff
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Address: 100 N San Francisco St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5232
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $99 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing