We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The best thing about this place is the location, in the heart of Flagstaff's historic downtown. Otherwise, my room was drab and pricey for what it was (I paid $100 for a room with a queen-sized bed and private bath). Just a little bit of improvement (new carpeting, a high-wattage reading lamp) would go a long way. My room was quiet at night but noisy starting at 7 a.m. on weekdays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huhelen_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    138
    75
    49
    81
See reviews for
52
167
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My daughter recommended that we stay here - she mentioned that it's not the most modern hotel but it was nostalgic. The hotel is very central to downtown which we found very convenient. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was very small. All of the rooms have names of famous people; our 's was 'Cornell Wilde". The is a wonderful bar attached to the hotel, great martini's. Front desk staff were polite but not real friendly - they need to smile more. Would recommend this if staying for one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burkeyjb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had nowhere booked in flagstaff and went first to the monte vista as it's got the great big sign on top!! The room was affordable (around $89 plus tax) it wasn't huge, but it was clean and very comfortable. The room was kind of 'boutiquey'. There is a small car park which is first come first served, but we never had any trouble. It's got a good bar and is very centrally located for shops and restaurants. I'd stay there again quite happily.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marywilliams135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have stayed several times at the Monte Vista on ghost hunting trips . The rooms are clean warm and very comfy ! We always get the Bon Jovi Room , also known as the Rocking chair room . And have had much success as far as paranormal activity goes ! It has always been positive energy there and nothing bad . And we will be retuning on april 13th for more ghost hunting fun . Overall the Monte Vista is a great historical charming place to get away and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: The Bon Jovi Room 305 Is nice and big and quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tammy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stay at the Monte Vista once a year, and have never had any complaints. Keep in mind it is a historic hotel and only so many upgrades can be made. Stayed on 3/28/14. The room was remodeled from last year, bed extremely comfortable, soft linens, clean, and nice customer service at the front deck. Very impressed with the upgrades. Bed was very comfy!! Not sure why the reviews have been poor, I've never had a bad stay. Best location!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobysnack75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for two nights and for being an older hotel we thought that the atmosphere and the rooms were pretty cool. The staff was extremely rude! So disrespectful, they ignored us, wouldnt look at us when we spoke with them, they were not helpful at all and the front desk girl (savanna) made very snarky comments toward us as we walked away front the dest.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msnreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My fiancé and I thought a one night getaway would be relaxing. The lobby is beautiful the staff is very friendly. The hotel rooms are horrible. There is a sink in the room very very dark. The shower and toilet is so tiny you can barely stand up. Spend the extra 20 bucks and stay somewhere else. The absolute worst thing is you have to leave the windows open because there is no air conditioning and all the teenagers party on the street in front of the hotel very loud and you cannot sleep.The partying went on till 3-4 in the morning. Where is the police in this town?

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#16 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Conference Center Nau/downtown
0.5 mi away
The L Motel Flagstaff
The L Motel Flagstaff
#46 of 64 in Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Property: Hotel Monte Vista
Address: 100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing