We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monte Vista
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$166
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$171
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$165
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$169
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$130
$110
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$114
$102
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Little America Hotel Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$221
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$249
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
84
168
98
55
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
168
98
55
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelcocktail loungeghost storiesdebbie reynoldsfreddie mercuryair supplybob hopehumphrey bogartmovie starsdowntown flagstaffcollege townbars and restaurantszane greythird floorrendezvousjovi
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 492 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an interesting place to stay. It is by no means new. The rooms are small, and not much has been done to update the hotel from its historical nature -- which I think is on purpose. Some rooms are larger depending upon how much you want to spend. But this place has class and interest. The famous people that have stayed here and still stay here makes this a unique place. It is centrally located and has a funky and lively restaurant (plus bar/pool hall) in it. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms very small (but private), and the service was excellent. This is a hotel for young people or people looking for an interesting adventure. It has a lot of history if you like that, but don't come here with the expectation that this is a Holiday Inn or Hilton. It is a historical hotel in a small AZ town and lives up to its name.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kobuck1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Was tired of the same old Super 8/Motel 6 so we took a chance on the Monte Vista. Loved it, tons of character, neat and clean. Great lively lower level bar, in fact it was voted best "dive bar". We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulVincentOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My boyfriend & I drove to the Hotel Monte Vista to stay the night to do a little paranormal investigating, which is a hobby of ours, in celebration of his birthday.

We arrived at the hotel and went up to our room...the door had been left open.

The bathroom was uncomfortably tiny with a toilet and standing shower, but the sink in the bedroom area. (At least we had a bathroom!)

There was really nothing to do in the town besides go to a bar and drink & listen to music.

The hotel & town was really played up on the websites and by the staff when you talk to them as being really haunted, but there were no type of ghost tour or anything. The hotel did have a photocopied paper with ghost sightings listed on it that they handed us when we checked in. But then I got yelled at by the bouncer for taking pictures of the bar. How are you gonna tell people how haunted your hotel is and then not let them take photos to catch any ghosts?

The hotel itself had a band playing until early morning and then closed down so you couldn't explore the "haunted" areas near the bar/pool tables. The rude desk agent even told us they closed the lobby after 1am, so we didn't feel like we could even go into the lobby and sit.

We ended up just going to bed at like 11pm...but couldn't sleep until about 4am because the noise from downstairs and outside was so loud that it sounded like it was coming from inside the room. Not to mention the uncomfortable bed.

There were names on many of the doors, in some sort of cheesy attempt to make it feel like celebrities loved to stay there.

We had no sort of ghostly encounters, which we have at places said to be much less haunted in their history.

Overall very disappointed with the hotel and the town. The trip wasn't cheap either.

Only good thing was a couple of the staff were friendly & the restaurant had vegetarian options for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puppetgirldotnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I absolutely loved our stay at the Monte V! I've read several reviews claiming the place is an old dump...Old, yes. A dump?? Give me a break!!! If you want to stay at a modern, Best Western type of place, completely VOID of character then the Monte Vista is not for you. We loved our room, we loved the smell of the old wood, we loved the antique furnishings, we loved the bar/lounge, and we loved the staff (the girl at the Front desk was an absolute doll) and we can not wait to come back. Our room was spotless, comfortable, warm, and quiet. The location is perfect, being right in the heart of historic downtown Flag, tons to do, great restaurants/cafes, everything in walking distance. Thanks for a great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: We had a corner room so the view was excellent and it was totally quiet. We stayed in 406.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

OK. Our room was named for Michael Stipe and R.E.M. That's great to start. This is an old downtown hotel with not one, but two bars. Good restaurants nearby. Room was comfortable and quiet. Staff was helpul. Enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews