We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sloppy but funny hotel”
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monte Vista
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Ok it's old the painting and the furniture But we like old hotels. Its in the middle of downtown. We slept in the 'Freddy mercury ' room on the 4 th floor in a corner room with an extra window. So yes it was far away from the first floor and the saloon. Ok the bathroom was small. But the room was clean. All the people that complain should go to one of the chain hotels with no character at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luzUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 477 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Me and my boyfriend arrived Flagstaff today , and we loved it right away!

The downtown area is fantastisk with great restaurants and of course the Monte Vista hotel! It was perfect for our stay , and a good price for staying downtown:)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The best thing about this hotel was the location, right in downtown, with free parking. The rooms and decor were dated, with carpets needing renewing. The rooms could have been cleaner, as the carpets had crumbs on still. No breakfast included, so a little on the expensive side. Stayed 2 nights in August, so we could see more of Flagstaff, a great little town, but if we ever went back we'd find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David499564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

On my second trip to Flagstaff to deposit a daughter at NAU, I thought it would be fun to stay downtown as it has a great vibe, good food and atmosphere. I booked the "Monte V" as the locals call it. Our first indication of something amiss was when the front desk clerk advised that while they do not have bellmen, the bouncers are more than willing to help. Our "Penthouse Suite" was 2 small, separate rooms with lockable doors connected by a small corridor with a small bathroom. The red, black and gold decor was garrish, and the red carpet smelled old and musty. The windows are nailed shut around a window A/C unit and although loud, not loud enough to drown out the boistrous noise of the partrons leaving the bar at 2am who decided to hang around outside our window for another hour chatting and laughing. We learned that anyone in the know would ask for anything but the 2nd floor as that is where pets are allowed and it is right above a very popular bar. I had asked if there was another room available, but they were sold out. When we checked out in the morning (2 nights ahead of schedule) we were not even asked why. The lobby and Rendevous lounge are lovely, too bad the 2nd floor leaves much to be desired.

Room Tip: Some rooms are featured in photos in the lobby...ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadMom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Each room is different and named for a famous person who has stayed in the room. We stayed in the Jane Russell room (312) which is the "red" room as in everything is red (walls, ceiling, bedspread, etc..). The room was large while the bathroom was small. The bed was comfortable. This was a fun place to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OppTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A perfectly situated hotel in the centre of busy cosmopolitan Flagstaff. The hotel has a certain 'seedy elegance' that errs on the side of charming. some rooms are named after previous famous guests which is a nice touch. There is an excellent bar adjoining the hotel with nightly entertainment. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballyjamesduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The staff were arrogant from the first interaction. Halfway between checking us in the front desk guy started chatting with other staff members for 10 mins.
Parking is very limited. If you don't mind walking two blocks then there is enough public parking.
The location is great. But that's it with anything positive.
Our room wasn't made up for the second night. This was dismissed as a glitch without apology. "the maids have gone home already, do you need ME to make your bed?"
After having to ask for it new towels were provided. This time I got a "heartfelt" apology after asking how this could happen: "sorry sir".
The rooms are very noisy, the doors slam, the beds squeak (yes, we could hear someone going at it at 6:30 in the morning).

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crissy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#36 of 65 in Flagstaff
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#20 of 65 in Flagstaff
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Address: 100 N San Francisco St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5232
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $98 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing